Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Just what I was looking for. Tasts just like my Mother used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mc Clave, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ely, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
My daughter who came over for dinner is pregnant and begged me to make chicken and dumplings. Her favorite recipe used refridgerated bicuits and the stew I always made was just ok. After eating this she says she will never eat it any other way. I have to agree this stew was great, I still don't care for the dumplings prefer biscuits but this was tasty. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
We liked this dish. However, we thought it was pretty bland. I added garlic, sage, and Tony's seasoned salt. I absolutey love the dumplings though. This will always be my dumpling recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! The whole family loved it. The only change I will make next time is to add a little extra water or broth. Thank you for this new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEVEN_STOKES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDUDETTE
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
this took me back to my childhood as well. I searched and searched and this recipe looked the best to me. The only variations I made are: I used a whole chicken and added extra water as needed. Next time I think I will just use chicken breasts as I am not a big fan of dark meat. I also used an extra potatoe and carrot. In the dumplings I used some parsley I dried myself. I found this recipe to be everything I expected and more. I plan to freeze some and see how that does too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDUDETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Pretty darned good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Awesome! I added a touch of chicken bouillon and some garlic salt but I'm not sure I needed it. I used three leg quarters and a little white meat I had left over from a chicken I had made a few days before. What a great, comforting meal to have on a cold winter day...or any other day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
YUM! I used about 2 cups of pre-cooked, frozen, diced chicken breasts that I keep on hand for recipes just like this. And I used 32 oz of Chicken Stock and then about another 16 oz of chicken broth because that is what I had on hand. It turns it into a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was my first attempt at making chicken & dumplings and my wife &[ I thought it was terrific. As others did, I increased the water by about a cup and added two boullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
First time to make it and it was declared "a keeper." My kids ages 6 and 8 loved it. I did this in two parts: first night I boiled the chicken and let it cool in the fridge. Next day I skimmed the fat and heated the broth. Added 5 tsp chicken base to broth. While broth heated, I cut the veggies and added to broth, then while that heated, I deboned the chicken; it went really fast, then added to broth. While that heated I made dumplings. Took 1-1/2 hours the first night, then about 45 mins for the second half. The base made the stew flavorful. Used fresh carrots sliced 1/4" thick, fresh celery and onion, and 1/2-bag of frozen soup veggies. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States