Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
New Family Favorite! There was nothing left. I didn't add the potatoes and that was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is a great foundation recipe! This was the first time I made it, and I tweaked it to my taste. I used half chicken thighs and half chicken breasts, and instead of using basil and thyme, I used poultry seasoning. I didn't measure the amount, just added in small amounts until it suited my taste. I'm wheat intolerant so I used refined spelt flour for the dumplings, which worked really well. I took the stew to a group dinner and it was a huge hit! Thanks for the great recipe; I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
must add quite a bit more water for the dish i remember as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srae831

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
My first time making chicken with dumplings was a huge success due to this recipe. It is very flavorful and well worth the effort. I used frozen chicken legs and threw in a few chicken bouillon cubes for the broth, which i preferred to double. I did use the shortcut of Bisquick for the dumplings, adding a bit of dried parsley. Two immediate thoughts came to mind when I tasted this....first, how good it tasted and second, how versatile the base recipe is. For instance instead of dumplings, egg noodles would make a wonderful chicken noodle soup, or perhaps thickening it a bit for a chicken pot pie. Awesome recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Lovely recipe. I made the dumplings table spoon size and they completely covered the top & came out light and fluffy. Always a comfort food :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peppi2000

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was really good! I think it could have used more broth, or been a little thicker, because it turned out more like soup than stew, but not enough broth...and I followed the directions. The ONLY change I made was using bisquick instead of making the dumplings from scratch, so maybe that is why it wasn't quite as thick as I expected...One way or another, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This stew was delicious! This was my first time making chicken and dumplings. I used some of the suggestios of other users and it turned out great! First, I cooked the chicken in the crock pot for about three hours with the onion, some spices, and some chicken boullion (I get the jelly stuff, it's like a condensed stock so it has no MSG). I added an extra cup of water. It probably could have used more, I guess it depends how much liquid you want at the end. The rest of the stew I made on the stove. I omitted the potatoes, and I'm glad I did because it would have been too starchy. The dumplings make it very filling! I was tempted to thicken the broth with some corn starch, but I decided to wait until I added the dumplings to see how it looked. I'm glad I didn't thicken it. The starch from the dumplings made it a perfect consitencey, it would have been too thick if I had added corn starch. The only other mistake I made was I made the dumplings too big! I didn't realize how much they grew in the water, so they turned into little baseballs! They still cooked fine and tasted great, they were just huge. I know next time to make them smaller. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I couldn't find my normal recipe for dumplings. After searching thru all the wonderful chicken and dumplings here, I tried these. My husband and children (5) couldn't stop raving about the dumplings, light and fluffy. I actually had to make a second batch of dumplings on the stew after they ate them all. I am making them again tonight and they will now take the place of the recipe I've used for 15 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This dish made my soul smile! It was perfect for a dreary, rainy day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States