Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Excellent!!!!! Made a huge batch and tossed half in the freezer. Super yummy the whole fam. loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I made this for my husband and he really enjoyed it. I cooked it in the slow cooker one Sunday afternoon and he ate it during the week when I wasn't home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This was fantastic, 25years of marriage and I had never attempted dumplings. My husband loved his grandmothers and i just never thought I could do them justice, but with this recipe it came out great. I think it is a personal preference on how you may want the broth but i did thicken mine a little with cornstarch and water and based on another review I didn't add the potatoes until i was bringing the broth back up to temp before adding the dumplings! This is a keeper! I went with the 8 servings and with only the 2 of us we will get another meal of it so if you are feeding more and want left overs you might want to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I agree that you need more liquid. I put 4 cups of veg broth and 3 cups of water, put onion, carrots, and celery in with the chicken, as well as a large clove of chopped garlic. I did thicken the broth with cornstarch mixed with cold water. The biscuits were very soft and delicious, however i felt they needed more seasoning. I used dried parsley and can see how fresh would have kicked it up a notch. All in all very yummy. I especially enjoyed the peas in the mix. I think corn might be good to use next time. My husband thought he would like it better with potatoes, which I did not put in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Well, first and foremost, whoever said this recipe would take an hour and 45 minutes to complete is full of bull honkey. I consider myself a pretty efficient cook, but because I relied on the 'Ready In' time, my husband went to bed without dinner after a 14 hour work day. I'm not too happy about that. As far as the quality of the dish, I am pleased. This is a very hearty, thick chicken stew and the homemade dumplings are a nice touch, albeit a little bland. I followed the recipe almost exactly with the exception of using chicken broth instead of water to simmer my chicken in, and I heaped the basil and thyme. I did not use potatoes due to personal preference....seems weird to have potatoes and dumplings together, especially since they look similar too. After I boiled my chicken, I used two forks to shred the meat, like you'd do with pulled pork, and I found this to be easier than trying to dice it all. This recipe would benefit from the addition of ground white pepper, but I couldn't find mine. For presentation, add a slice of steamed lemon and a criss-crossed sprig of fresh rosemary. I will make this again on a cold day, but if and only if I have some serious time to spare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnsChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Amazing stew. Easy to make. I love it. I never could get chicken/turkey stew right until I used this recipe. I usually boil what's left of a chicken or turkey carcass instead of using just the thighs/wings it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Delicious! My family enjoyed this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I took a couple of shortcuts (pre-made broth) but otherwise followed the instructions. This was a perfect cold winter dinner. Not too heavy, very comforting, and the dumplings were delicious (though I might add some scallions for a little zing next time). Next time I might make the stew a day ahead as it was definitely tastier on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waipio2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Light ant fluffy dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ND COURSE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Soooo Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States