Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is a delicious soup/stew. I used leftover chicken and 5 cups of chicken broth instead of cooking chicken thighs and I left out the peas because of personal preference. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I love the way the dumplings make the broth a bit creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I follow the slow cooker recipe from one of the reviewers. Very good, definitely comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Soronen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I tried to make Chicken and dumplings before this recipe...disaster. Every time I make it now it turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
OMG!!! My mom is famous for making this dish but it's been years since i've had it. The only thing I did different was buy boneless chicken thighs and boiled it in already made chicken broth.It came out looking just like the picture. Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darinnia Bynam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I usually hate it when people change a recipe and then rate it, but I didn't have bone-in thighs, so I used boneless and added them to a ready made chicken broth instead of making my own broth with the bones. I simmered it for about a half hour, and then added the veggies. It worked out wonderfully! I did everything else the same. It was for some reason much better than my regular chicken soup. Even the picky 5 year old ate everything in her bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious!I really impressed my husband on the first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Edible, but just. The peas commanded the flavor of the dish. Very disappointed. I'll look further for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattoogrl13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sutherlin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Excellent. Hearty, comforting and healthy. I substituted white meat for dark, soy milk for cow milk due to allergies, and added some Trader Joe's chicken broth packets for extra flavor. Wonderful, a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I have made this twice now. The first time with everything here just as it says and we loved every bite. The second time I made it I used almond milk and Smart Balance light with EVOO. They were just perfect. I also didn't have thyme, as I couldn't find it until later (on the floor due to the spices falling out of my cabinet, slick!). I added sage, rosemary, garlic, along with the basil instead. It was great also. I would recommend this recipe. I would like to give recognition to the dumplings which are to die for! I am a big fan. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is delicious. I have a picky 5 year old that enjoyed it just as much as the rest of us. I did add basil into the dumplings and I forgot to add the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States