Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This stew was delicious. My husband would like to give it six stars...but that's not possible. I stuck closely to the recipe...adding 3/4 cup more water to the broth after adding vegetables. I tried cream in the dumplings initially. The prescribed amount was not enough and the dough was much too crumbly.I added another 1/4 cup milk, which brought the dough to thick wet consistency that seemed appropriate. It turned out great! It tastes so fresh...and without the overwhelming sodium taste you get with canned or restaurant chicken soup. We used frozen peas and carrott medley, rather than fresh carrotts. That worked well, and was a bit less work. The left overs had soaked up much of the broth, and were very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha Parrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Kansas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was a very good chicken with dumplings.. I was impressed because i am very picky about them.I did find there was not enough liquid and I think it will cook for a little less time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious, but dumpling batter mixed up too thin, so dumplings dissipated upon contact with simmering stew. Worth another try, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is a great base recipe but you WILL need more liquids. I only made 4 servings but after adding water a half cup at a time after boiling the chicken I ended up using probably TWICE the amount of liquids total. I made this recipe my own by adding a few touches that I thought would make it even better. Added some of my favorite herbs and spices to the water (which was actually one can of chicken broth mixed with the rest water) along with some powdered chicken bouillon before I put the chicken to boil. One chicken quarter (A leg and a thigh)+ one chicken back provided more than enough meat for 4 servings. Cut a few deep long slits into your bigger chicken pieces to cut the cooking time by more than 1/2. You can really play around with this recipe and make it your own while using the same cooking technique. I used half/half broth-from-the-boiled-chicken/milk in the dumplings to lower the calorie content a little and add flavor to the dumplings. Also you can use dried parsley in them if you just halve the amount. I only gave this recipe 4 stars because the vegetable cooking times were off. If you cook the vegies until tender and then cook them for another 20 minutes as the instructions state, you will just have mush vegies, Add the dumplings instead when your vegies are about halfway cooked and the dumplings only take about 10 minutes total to cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Easy and delicious. Don't ever use a biscuit mix like some of the other recipes do! Scratch is 100 times better! I always get asked to make this recipe. I usually make two pots so we have extra dumplings. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim C-DLR
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I cannot eat this chicken and dumplings fast enough, which is not good because it's still piping hot! That's how amazing it is! Thank you to the lady who posted it originally. I strayed from the original recipe a bit, using about 5 lbs of chicken thighs. I also substituted dried tarragon in place of thyme. And a secret my mum taught me years ago: a pinch of curry powder! Finally added some heavy cream at the end. Oh, and I used whole wheat flour, and grated some lemon zest in with the parsley, etc. in the dumpling dough. I was SURE I would mess up the dumplings...NOPE! FANTASTIC, I can't wait for the old man to try it! THANK YOU!! A note to those who found their dumplings disintegrating: Make sure you use at least a tablespoon of dough per dumpling. Also make sure the broth is at least boiling a bit; it will make the dumplings float, which means they are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim C-DLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Like another review suggested I used a rotisserie chicken with 5 cups of chicken broth. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I'm not much of a cook...but this came out great! Highly recommeded!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Awesome. A must make dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
it was just ok for me a little bland ill tweak it a little next time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I found that the stew was a little bland 3/4 of the way through cooking so I just added a little bullion. The dumplings were amazing though! Next time maybe ill try cream of chicken and water to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States