Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is a great base recipe but you WILL need more liquids. I only made 4 servings but after adding water a half cup at a time after boiling the chicken I ended up using probably TWICE the amount of liquids total. I made this recipe my own by adding a few touches that I thought would make it even better. Added some of my favorite herbs and spices to the water (which was actually one can of chicken broth mixed with the rest water) along with some powdered chicken bouillon before I put the chicken to boil. One chicken quarter (A leg and a thigh)+ one chicken back provided more than enough meat for 4 servings. Cut a few deep long slits into your bigger chicken pieces to cut the cooking time by more than 1/2. You can really play around with this recipe and make it your own while using the same cooking technique. I used half/half broth-from-the-boiled-chicken/milk in the dumplings to lower the calorie content a little and add flavor to the dumplings. Also you can use dried parsley in them if you just halve the amount. I only gave this recipe 4 stars because the vegetable cooking times were off. If you cook the vegies until tender and then cook them for another 20 minutes as the instructions state, you will just have mush vegies, Add the dumplings instead when your vegies are about halfway cooked and the dumplings only take about 10 minutes total to cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Easy and delicious. Don't ever use a biscuit mix like some of the other recipes do! Scratch is 100 times better! I always get asked to make this recipe. I usually make two pots so we have extra dumplings. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim C-DLR
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I cannot eat this chicken and dumplings fast enough, which is not good because it's still piping hot! That's how amazing it is! Thank you to the lady who posted it originally. I strayed from the original recipe a bit, using about 5 lbs of chicken thighs. I also substituted dried tarragon in place of thyme. And a secret my mum taught me years ago: a pinch of curry powder! Finally added some heavy cream at the end. Oh, and I used whole wheat flour, and grated some lemon zest in with the parsley, etc. in the dumpling dough. I was SURE I would mess up the dumplings...NOPE! FANTASTIC, I can't wait for the old man to try it! THANK YOU!! A note to those who found their dumplings disintegrating: Make sure you use at least a tablespoon of dough per dumpling. Also make sure the broth is at least boiling a bit; it will make the dumplings float, which means they are done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim C-DLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Like another review suggested I used a rotisserie chicken with 5 cups of chicken broth. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I'm not much of a cook...but this came out great! Highly recommeded!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Awesome. A must make dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
it was just ok for me a little bland ill tweak it a little next time i make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I found that the stew was a little bland 3/4 of the way through cooking so I just added a little bullion. The dumplings were amazing though! Next time maybe ill try cream of chicken and water to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Yum! Made as written but I added 1 additional cup of water. Still needed more broth so will add 2c next time and omit the potatoes just b/c the dumplings are enough carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was really good! I cooked 3 chicken breasts in water w/vegetables, a can of broth, and spices, and used that finished broth instead of water. I used 6 cups of the broth instead of five,and I'm glad I did because I don't think there would have been enough liquid if I hadn't used the extra cup (but I definitely wouldn't use more). I skipped the potatoes altogether (also glad I did that ... the end result was plenty thick and starchy). For the dumplings, I didn't have fresh parsley so I used dried parsley and some ground sage instead. I cooked as directed and the dumplings were DELICIOUS! Yummy meal. Next time I probably won't use peas, or maybe LESS peas... there just seemed to be too many and seemed out of place. I will DEFINITELY make again!!! EDIT: Have made many times ... the last time (9/12) I used 7 cups of broth which I cooked the breasts in, and then added more broth after breasts were cooked to bring it back up to 7 cups. It turned out too salty (and I never added salt at all) so next time I'll use a broth/water mixture. Used just a handful of peas put in the last few minutes which was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was fabulous and easy! I made a few slight changes: I added the sale and 2 cloves garlic and 1/2 an onion to the water when the chicken was boiling - makes the chicken much more flavourful. I also added about 1 1/2 cups mushrooms (I had portabellos on hand) - sauteed them first with a bit of olive oil and a clove of garlic and added this to the stew. I used another reviewers suggestion and used basil and sage in the dumplings instead of parsley. Delicious!! My husband loved it - daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States