Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
The stew was only okay (the peas got overcooked), but the dumplings were fantastic. Next time I will just make the chicken stew I normally do and add these dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I've made this recipe for years, just now taking time to write a review. I first time I made it, it came out wonderful, better than I imagined. Everyone ate it up. I skipped the peas, added fresh thyme, used chicken breasts, wings, in addition the legs. I also left the bones in. It is also a great dish to bring anyone who is sick. I've had several requests to make it for various relatives. The best part was the dumplings on the top with the fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I personally didn't care for this, but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Made this recipe 5 times, each time with a different vegetable blend and with different cuts of chicken. Always turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SheCookGood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and used red potatoes, since I was a little fuzzy about what a new potato was. (Are they just little??) Based on the recipe, I thought I would have to add extra herbs or something to perk it up, but it was wonderful as written (and rather pretty too, for a stew!). Looking forward to trying this on my boyfriend! We'll see how it holds up to his grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
make this all the time. family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dotlikesred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is a delicious soup/stew. I used leftover chicken and 5 cups of chicken broth instead of cooking chicken thighs and I left out the peas because of personal preference. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I love the way the dumplings make the broth a bit creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I follow the slow cooker recipe from one of the reviewers. Very good, definitely comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I tried to make Chicken and dumplings before this recipe...disaster. Every time I make it now it turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
OMG!!! My mom is famous for making this dish but it's been years since i've had it. The only thing I did different was buy boneless chicken thighs and boiled it in already made chicken broth.It came out looking just like the picture. Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darinnia Bynam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States