Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
don't like the poultry seasoning taste...try something else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Pretty good gravy that is ready quick. Be sure to dissolve all the cornstarch in the water before adding to chicken stock to prevent lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
well now. 4 stars. why? bc my cook-of-a-friend just informed me that the reviewers here hit the spot with the milk issue. milk totally dissolves the corn starch. pour a bit and then add the corn starch. THIS makes for a lump-free situation. there is science behind all of this, but is an excellent tip that you should totally go with. i poured my broth from the slow cooker (i cooked an organic chicken, has some broth, made chicken salad with homemade mayo--using grapeseed oil, another recipe--added the bones and fat back into the slow cooker with more water--and cooked on low AGAIN for about 2 hours)...took the broth...didn't have cheesecloth so used a handkerchief--sieved it--poured it into tiny pot with the milk and cornstarch...added organic concentrated chicken broth....some sea salt instead of poultry seasoning...and it was GOOD. i didn't measure anything, but i would say i used about 1.5-2 cups of chicken broth, 2+ tbspn of corn starch (similar to amt here) and about 1 tspn (maybe less--as recipe has here) of sea salt instead of poultry seasoning..it's really GOOD. this is a bare-bones awesome beginner's gravy. kicking it up a notch might entail the throwing in of various veggies with broth. if my son eats this, i'll be over the moon. if not, i sure as hell will have at it myself...i've already indulged in several SPOONFULLS and have some broth on the standby to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Worked great! Easy to make, tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
A decent gravy that does well in a pinch. It's more of a weekday dinner gravy rather than a Thanksgiving gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is a legit recipe. I used 1 3/4 cup of milk instead of water, and 2 chicken bouillon cubes instead of chicken stock. Then added a teaspoon of Mrs. Dash table blend. It was thick, creamy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
It's messing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
WOW! This is really decent considering that it's practically mock gravy!!! I thought there was no way that this would taste good, but I used milk to dissolve the cornstarch and it was nice and creamy yet flavorful in taste. I added some extra onion powder for taste and a dash of salt. A pretty good super low-fat option and it moistens up anything you're serving with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made this gravy tonight for my husband and he loved it! It was perfect! I took the advice of using milk instead of water and that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Kinzey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lithia, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States