Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I'm sorry, but I wasn't a fan of this at all. The poultry seasoning gave it a flavor I was not expecting at all. Very far from the traditional "thanksgiving" taste I was trying to aim for. Should have just started with some salt and pepper. I had to add lots of salt, pepper and garlic powder trying to mask the poultry seasoning. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I basically replaced the chicken stock with the drippings from the pan that I had roasted my chicken in. I poured all the juices in a saucepan, added maybe a little less than equal the amount of water. I then brought this to a boil and added 2 tablespoons of cornstarch (already dissolved in water) to the boiling chicken juices. kept boiling and stirring until it thickened and all done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made this with a roux rather than the corn starch because I thought the olive oil would add a little more flavor (since the recipe itself looked like it may need some). I still didn't like it. I'm generally pretty generous in my reviews but this was bland and blah. Sorry, not a fan. I'd rather use the little gravy packets from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
A very good and simple recipe if your looking for something to accompany your mashed potatoes! I also liked the fact that you don't use flour as that means it has less calories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I am pretty much with Siralee on this one. However I did not use milk and I think I should have. I will use milk & flour next time. I did add a little salt & pepper and did use chicken bullion powder, didn't seem overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Doubtfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made a few changes.... I reduced the poultry seasoning to 1/2 teaspoonful and added 1/2 tsp salt (as I used reduced salt broth) and 1/2 tsp browning sauce. My son turned his nose up at the smell but ended up going back for seconds and poured it over his baked haddock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maritimeukranian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
ok, similar to my own home made gravy recipe. Mine takes many different herbs, and has a much richer taste. I would add a little bit of minced onion. Also, needs more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Good base for an easy chicken gravy--needs improvement, however. Most importantly, CUT DOWN the poultry seasoning. It was WAY too strong. I also used milk (following suggestions from other reviewers) instead of water. I think I'll try less cornstarch and maybe bouillion+water in place of the broth next time--probably more flavorful. The consistency was okay, but the flavor was a bit off. Worth experimenting with due to the ease and availablity of ingredients already found in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was pretty tasty! I always have those ingredients on hand, I'll definitely keep this handy. Next time I'll skip the poultry seasoning and just use salt & pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I had to add salt, milk, and extra seasonings, but it is pretty close to restaurant style gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States