Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
A very good and simple recipe if your looking for something to accompany your mashed potatoes! I also liked the fact that you don't use flour as that means it has less calories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I am pretty much with Siralee on this one. However I did not use milk and I think I should have. I will use milk & flour next time. I did add a little salt & pepper and did use chicken bullion powder, didn't seem overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Doubtfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made a few changes.... I reduced the poultry seasoning to 1/2 teaspoonful and added 1/2 tsp salt (as I used reduced salt broth) and 1/2 tsp browning sauce. My son turned his nose up at the smell but ended up going back for seconds and poured it over his baked haddock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maritimeukranian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
ok, similar to my own home made gravy recipe. Mine takes many different herbs, and has a much richer taste. I would add a little bit of minced onion. Also, needs more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Good base for an easy chicken gravy--needs improvement, however. Most importantly, CUT DOWN the poultry seasoning. It was WAY too strong. I also used milk (following suggestions from other reviewers) instead of water. I think I'll try less cornstarch and maybe bouillion+water in place of the broth next time--probably more flavorful. The consistency was okay, but the flavor was a bit off. Worth experimenting with due to the ease and availablity of ingredients already found in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was pretty tasty! I always have those ingredients on hand, I'll definitely keep this handy. Next time I'll skip the poultry seasoning and just use salt & pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsimon99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I had to add salt, milk, and extra seasonings, but it is pretty close to restaurant style gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
My first time making my own gravy and it turned out great. I made it again and it turned out even better with leftover pieces of "spicy rapid roast chicken" (from this web sight) mixed in and poured over a thick toast. All the spices together between the two were so delicious and easy to make. Oh, and I didn't have two C. of stock so I simply added some chicken broth to the stock. I also used milk instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Excellent recipe! This one is going in my permanent file. My gravy never came out right until I tried this one. I followed a previous post and lessened the water to 1 3/4 c, used 2 cubes of chicken bullion and milk to mix the cornstarch. I only added two tablespoons of the cornstarch since other posts mentioned the recipe was lumpy. The recipe is so easy, it's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I couldn't salvage this. My suggestions are: do use milk instead of water to dissolve the cornstarch. Do not add more than the smallest amount of poultry seasoning before you TASTE it. Be clear what seasonings are already in your bullion or stock before you add any salt or pepper, spice, etc. For gravy makers, as usual, just add the cold milk/cornstarch in phases until you like the consistency. The consistency is fine. The flavor is not to my standards. If you like the traditional taste of gravy, I do not recommend this one. Yes, this is much easier than pan gravy, but I did not care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States