Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This gravy was phenomenal. I used chicken boullion and cut the water to 1-3/4 cups instead of the full two. Instead of dissolving the corn starch in water, I dissolved it in milk. This made the gravy nice and thick and creamy. It was delicious and there was no odd texture or appearance to mine as other reviewers have stated. I definitely recommend using milk instead of water as it really gives it a nice color and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
430 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This recipe was outstanding! I did however, use the suggestion for the milk and I have to say it came out creamy and had a wonderful look to it! This recipe is great for a quick gravy! I will be using it again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This was just about the worst thing I've ever tasted. It tasted like thick, greasy water. My husband and I were both in shock at how gross this stuff was. I will definitely keep looking for a different chicken gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This chicken gravy recipe is delicious and almost fat free, too! It is quick and easy and worked well with vegetable broth and/or beef broth for other types of meat, too! I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I was looking for an easy gravy recipe to go with leftover mashed potatoes and stuffing, and came across this one. I did alter the recipe a lot, and it came out quite good. I boiled 2 cups of water, and dissolved 2 chicken boullion cubes in it. I added about 1 teaspoon of Bell's seasoning, and 1 teaspoon of seasoned salt. I mixed 1/2 cup warm water with 2 tablespoons of flour, and whisked it into the broth until well blended. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
This was the worst gravy that I have ever had, it didn't even taste like gravy. It tasted like I was just putting a bunch of herbs on my rice that didn't go together. It almost ruined the whole meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant View, Utah, USA
Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Great easy recipe. I have added it to my "staple" recipes. You can add anything to change the flavor, herbs and seasonings. But just as good the way it is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This works well when you don't have any pan dripping to work from. It doesn't have a strange color and thick consistency. My children and husband both said that it was tasted fine. The only thing that I did different was adding extra poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBRENNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Well, hmmm. I must mention, I'm as bad at making gravy as I am frying foods (which is pretty bad). I usually buy gravy from market day, or in desperation ask my mom to come over and make it (she lives 3 minutes from me). As this gravy tasted good, a little salty (could have been the boullion that I used) but the consistancy, well I'll put it to you this way, my 11 year old son asked me if I blew my nose in it (which could mean nothing after the yukon gold mashed potatoes comment, he's such a jokester). It was sort of gloppy, but the taste was good. I'll make it again in a bind, Thanks Barbara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
The perfect gravy recipe!!! Just what I was looking for! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISARUTH!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States