Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I did have to quadruple the recipe for a church gathering and it didn't work. Even though I followed the directions, it was very light in color and bland in taste. Not sure if that was due to increasing the servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Heatley Raymondi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Awesome, amazingly simple with great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was great! I made my stock using boullion, then boiled two chicken breast in it for about 1/2 hr, took the chicken out when juices were clear, mixed milk instead of water like others suggested and added seasoning, shredded the chicken and put it back in when it thickened and then poured it over box mashed potatoes! I was a very quick GOOD and easy meal to make;) I thought it could use more pepper but I LOVE pepper so yeah... will use again! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Made this recipe tonight because I was out of jarred gravy and it was definitely the BEST chicken gravy both my husband and I have ever tasted! I added a bit of the dripping leftover from seasoned and baked chicken and I used 3 Tbsp. cornstarch with 2 Tbsp. 2% milk. Thanks for a great recipe, Barbara and thank you Allrecipes for NEVER letting me down. I come here often for recipes and each one I find and make is absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I used 2 cubes of chicken boullion in 2c. water instead of chicken stock. I used a mixture of cornstarch, flour and milk to thicken because just the cornstarch wasn't working. I added more poultry seasoning, pepper, garlic salt and onion powder. The gravy turned out great. I used turkey breast fillets and baked them in the gravy. This really flavored the gravy nicely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I needed gravy to make stuffed chicken breasts, I like to put gravy inside with the stuffing. I literally just made this in about 2 min and I made my own poultry seasoning since I didn't have any. This is the perfect thickness for inside the chicken, nice and thick, not runny. I did use 1 3/4 cups of boullion and used milk to mix with the cornstarch. Can't wait to make the chicken tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I followed others suggestions and used milk instead of water w/ the cornstarch. it turned out really good, i just added about 1/2 tsp salt and pepper. you sure can't beat a fast and easy homemade gravy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Ingredients matter! If you use good, quality stock then this will be awesome. If you use cheap stock it won't be any good. I tripled it and used it for chicken biscuits and gravy. I didn't have stock, but used 1T of chicken base and 1T of vegetable base for 6 cups of liquid. (use 1t of each for the original recipe). I also added a bit of garlic powder and dissolved the corn starch in 1C of milk. I used 5 cups water only, which combined with the milk made 6 cups liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States