Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
well now. 4 stars. why? bc my cook-of-a-friend just informed me that the reviewers here hit the spot with the milk issue. milk totally dissolves the corn starch. pour a bit and then add the corn starch. THIS makes for a lump-free situation. there is science behind all of this, but is an excellent tip that you should totally go with. i poured my broth from the slow cooker (i cooked an organic chicken, has some broth, made chicken salad with homemade mayo--using grapeseed oil, another recipe--added the bones and fat back into the slow cooker with more water--and cooked on low AGAIN for about 2 hours)...took the broth...didn't have cheesecloth so used a handkerchief--sieved it--poured it into tiny pot with the milk and cornstarch...added organic concentrated chicken broth....some sea salt instead of poultry seasoning...and it was GOOD. i didn't measure anything, but i would say i used about 1.5-2 cups of chicken broth, 2+ tbspn of corn starch (similar to amt here) and about 1 tspn (maybe less--as recipe has here) of sea salt instead of poultry seasoning..it's really GOOD. this is a bare-bones awesome beginner's gravy. kicking it up a notch might entail the throwing in of various veggies with broth. if my son eats this, i'll be over the moon. if not, i sure as hell will have at it myself...i've already indulged in several SPOONFULLS and have some broth on the standby to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Worked great! Easy to make, tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
A decent gravy that does well in a pinch. It's more of a weekday dinner gravy rather than a Thanksgiving gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This is a legit recipe. I used 1 3/4 cup of milk instead of water, and 2 chicken bouillon cubes instead of chicken stock. Then added a teaspoon of Mrs. Dash table blend. It was thick, creamy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
It's messing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
WOW! This is really decent considering that it's practically mock gravy!!! I thought there was no way that this would taste good, but I used milk to dissolve the cornstarch and it was nice and creamy yet flavorful in taste. I added some extra onion powder for taste and a dash of salt. A pretty good super low-fat option and it moistens up anything you're serving with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made this gravy tonight for my husband and he loved it! It was perfect! I took the advice of using milk instead of water and that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kinzey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lithia, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I used the pan drippings from a chicken I made and added it to the chicken stock. I used water with the cornstarch and 2 cups of chicken stock and it came out perfect. There was not a weird consistency at all. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great recipe! First off, I have to tell those of you who have not made gravy before - do not mix the cornstarch/water too far ahead of making the gravy. I did this & when I put it in the chicken stock, it instantly solidified! I considered letting it go to see if it would eventually mix back in, but decided quickly just to fish it out (it was large chunks) and put in a new mix. The 2nd time, I mixed the cornstarch with milk (first time with water) & added it to the broth immiately. So, it could have been that I used milk instead of water or it was just that I originally mixed it too early. With that said, loved the recipe. I used bullion to make the stock. Using milk with the cornstarch instead of water, it takes on a cream-of-chicken soup look. Added a blend spices a bit at a time until I liked it. Using this to dip my fluffy biscuits in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momoftwins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pequot Lakes, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Wow! I consider myself a gravy expert but this simple recipe (made from the rotisserie chicken) is beautiful! I added some water since it was too thick, and some salt for our tastes, but it was YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

How to Make Roast Chicken Pan Gravy

See the secret to making flawless chicken pan gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States