Chicken Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I agree with the numerous reviews that this recipe needed twice as much milk as directed. I added 1-1/2 cups total because the cream cheese became so sticky and thick. Next time, I'll use chicken broth and milk, because all the milk diluted the spices and I had to add more. Not good when trying to reduce sodium. Thanks for the post, but I may stick with my recipe from college where you use 1 pint whipping cream, 6 tbsp butter, and simmer both until bubbles form. This type of sauce is thinner and more suitable for pasta; the cream cheese sauce in this recipe overwhelms the pasta, especially if you're using thinner types. Thanks for the post, but if you follow this recipe, DOUBLE THE MILK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was delicious. I added mushrooms for a little earthiness and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is a great recipe to make your own. I took the advice of adding an extra half cup of skim milk. Then, because I was using diced shrimp and peas instead, I added some lemon pepper to lighten the taste a little. Turned out great! And SOOO easy with on-hand ingredients. It will definitely be added to our rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
A really delicious way to use the leftover Lime Chicken (made with a recipe from this site) in my freezer. It brought so many yummy flavors to the alfredo sauce. The only vegetable I added was sauteed mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Awesome! My favorite dish. You can use less milk to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I cooked according to recipe and it was just "eh" for me and my family. I didn't even eat half my plate. Too cream cheese-y. I prefer the original flavor of parm cheese and milk. Also didn't like how the cheese and butter separated so easily - didn't look appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda J.
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was quite good, but I really prefer the "Quick and Easy Alfredo" from this site. I chose this recipe because it didn't call for parmesan cheese which I was out of, but this sauce was just too cream cheesey, and even though the quick and easy alfredo uses cream cheese, it just has a much more true alfredo taste. Still good though, I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Good recipe! I did make some changes. I did not have broccoli on hand, so I used yellow bell pepper and a 1/2 a large onion. It turned out really nicely! To the sauce I added a little EVOO, parsley, and Italian seasoning. First bite, we both thought this dish would be really great spicy!! I think I will try that next time:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
The recipe is good overall but I think the name could be changed so no one is expecting an 'alfredo' taste. The cream cheese flavour is somewhat too pronounced. A cup of chicken broth, a dash of celery seed, a tiny bit of green pepper and onion sorted that out. I served this over the "Johnny's Biscuits" instead of pasta and it was very tasty. The recipe is very thick if made as directed... too thick for my purposes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Great base recipe. You can modify to your liking - I prepared it omiting the butter, milk and onion powder and instead substituted fresh garlic and a whole package of cream cheese. I used roasted red/green bell peppers. Using these few changes gave the dish a whole new dimension and my husband loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsDiaz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Rock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo

Discover the tricks to this simple, 5-star chicken Alfredo recipe.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States