Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This is really good. I used 1/2 coconut oil and 1/2 butter in place of all butter, semi sweet chocochips instead of normal ones, carbquick instead of real flour and omitted the white sugar & walnuts entirely. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izumeme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
great recipe and easy to make. Followed it exact, although I have also made batches with milk choco chips and preferred that. Just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thePrairieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I loved this recipe. Other than cutting back on the amount of sugar, which I do with all recipes, I followed the instructions. The result was a cookie with a crispy edge and chewy middle. The chocolate didn't overwhelm the cookie and the flavors were perfect. This is the first oatmeal cookie I've made in years that I might actually make again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
As written, 4 stars. With changes as suggested by others, a solid 5 stars. Go with 1-3/4 cups flour, 2 teaspoons baking soda, and reduce salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Excellent cookie. Crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This recipe was amazing!!! Was a little skeptical to make them after reading the bad reviews but honestly, I did not change a thing and these were so plump and chewy and delish! The only thing I can offer to those who said they were flat, don't over mix and chill the dough a bit before baking. I guarantee you they will be perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doublev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
My favorite oatmeal chocolate chip recipe! My husband loves these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I didn't add nuts, but I had to bake them for over 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Yep, these cookies came out flat. I reduced the amount of butter to 3/4, and all was good. If you want to make 'em even better, try this: ditch the vanilla and use a shot of kahlua... gives the cookies a touch of coffee flavor. Also, ditch the walnuts and use Rice Krispies instead... in fact reduce the oatmeal to two cups and use two whole cups of Rice Krispies. Now you have the best cookies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geoffrey Mack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
These are delicious! Having read the reviews, I added 1/2 cup of more flour as suggested by some bakers. I did not find this to be good, as then the cookie did not spread as well. So next time I will stay with the 1 1/4 cup of flour. I used pecans instead of walnuts, but that is my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
The cookies were all right. They looked appealing out of the oven. I followed the recipe as written, with the exception of cutting back the salt, as I used salted butter. The texture was hearty and chewy. But the taste was bland, making them an overall disappointment. I waited to try them again the following day, as some cookies need a little time to develop their best flavor. Still felt the same. Sorry to have to say, in all honesty, just not worth the time, electricity or calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States