Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
As written, 4 stars. With changes as suggested by others, a solid 5 stars. Go with 1-3/4 cups flour, 2 teaspoons baking soda, and reduce salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Excellent cookie. Crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLogHomeKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
This recipe was amazing!!! Was a little skeptical to make them after reading the bad reviews but honestly, I did not change a thing and these were so plump and chewy and delish! The only thing I can offer to those who said they were flat, don't over mix and chill the dough a bit before baking. I guarantee you they will be perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doublev

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
My favorite oatmeal chocolate chip recipe! My husband loves these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I didn't add nuts, but I had to bake them for over 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Yep, these cookies came out flat. I reduced the amount of butter to 3/4, and all was good. If you want to make 'em even better, try this: ditch the vanilla and use a shot of kahlua... gives the cookies a touch of coffee flavor. Also, ditch the walnuts and use Rice Krispies instead... in fact reduce the oatmeal to two cups and use two whole cups of Rice Krispies. Now you have the best cookies ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geoffrey Mack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
These are delicious! Having read the reviews, I added 1/2 cup of more flour as suggested by some bakers. I did not find this to be good, as then the cookie did not spread as well. So next time I will stay with the 1 1/4 cup of flour. I used pecans instead of walnuts, but that is my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvonne Vankosky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
The cookies were all right. They looked appealing out of the oven. I followed the recipe as written, with the exception of cutting back the salt, as I used salted butter. The texture was hearty and chewy. But the taste was bland, making them an overall disappointment. I waited to try them again the following day, as some cookies need a little time to develop their best flavor. Still felt the same. Sorry to have to say, in all honesty, just not worth the time, electricity or calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Great recipe! I made it just as written, and they came out wonderfully; no problems with flat cookies. Maybe the flat cookies resulted from using margarine instead of butter? This is my new favorite chocolate chip oatmeal cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made these cookies yesterday and we absolutely loved them!! They came out very moist! I think this recipe was perfect. I didn't have "quick oats" and used old fashioned oatmeal instead. They still came out great! My husband just loves them! Problem is....so do I. I will be using this recipe ALL the time from now on. Maybe use raisins, or craisins, or other dry fruit, but staying close to this recipe. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette
Home Town: Hawarden, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
these cookies have made me the favourite dad at my daughter's daycare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 3,104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States