Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Excellent recipe, the only tweaking I did was cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups, after making one pie as directed. I will make this again, you can't beat easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I used buttermilk in place of the evaporated, per another review's suggestion, but otherwise this went into the Butter Flaky Pie Crust from this website and was phenomenal. It wasn't as knock-down sweet as I expected, which was a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and the pie turned out perfect! After the 40 minutes were up I did turn off the oven and let the pie cool off in the oven for another 30 min or so. My husband and I enjoyed it immensely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Delicious and easy to make. The recipe make more than one regular 9 in pie shell. Using a deep dish shell or putting less batter in 2 regular shells will prevent cooking over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Tinsley
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Wonderful! Absolutely wonderful! For years, I've searched for the perfect chess pie recipe, only to be disappointed every time. They never, ever, set right.... And, if they do, it's simply sub-standard. Until, I tried this recipe! Finally, just like Granny used to make--I can't wait to make one for the next family reunion! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Tinsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Just made this, and it was as delicious as promised. The only problem was the filling wa soupy after cooking according to directions. I ended up cranking the oven up to 350 degrees and cooking an extra half hour. The top was extra brown, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Have made this pie all my life (which is a long time).My granny showed me how. Never turned out bad. Just love it. Like to surprise friends after eat it and telling them it had vinegar and cornmeal in it.lololp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Smith Nesbit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mina Sockwell
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Sockwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodie Russell Hill
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Awesome recipe thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Russell Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaDonna Austin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States