Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Didn't have enough rolled oats so I added some granola cereal and clad out fantastic! Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I have used this recipe several times and it is perfect! I have revised by making a 9" pie and leave out the nuts since we have a child with a nut allergy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Great simple recipe and even better with a few small tweaks. Use real butter, make a double batch of topping and make a super thin bottom crust, squeeze/strain and add the juice of 1 whole lemon to the filling and you have a quickie store made desert that tastes homemade! I made this once and gave a few pieces out to friends and since then they've been begging for the recipe or for me to make them a batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The first time I made this recipe, it was not very good, but I altered a few things and made it for a party and not only was it gobbled up in ten minutes, but everyone raved about it all night! The alterations for the top included doubling the crisp part, using 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour, 1/2 cup regular all purpose flour. I chopped up the pecans and mixed them into the mixture instead of just sprinkling them on top. Added room temp. butter to mixture (this makes the crisp part actually crispy) instead of melting butter. Added a little sea salt and put more cinnamon, less nutmeg. For the cherries, I added orange zest (1 orange), which gave it a very fresh and flavorful kick. I also used a higher quality cherry pie filling with no high frucrose corn syrup. Would definitely make this again with all the alterations, easy and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My husband really liked it but I thought it was too sweet. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very easy and very tasty. I normally don't alter a recipe until I've made it once first, but I liked the idea that another user suggested; I doubled the "crisp" part of the recipe and put it in the bottom of the dish, then cherries, then more "crisp". This toned the richness of the cherries down a bit and as a bonus it actually made it easier to serve as it kind of helped hold it all together. I only had almonds on hand, so I used those and they worked well with this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made a cherry and an apple one and took into consideration the other reviews and made the following revisions-omitted the nutmeg completely and instead of using melted butter, I used pats of butter and cut them with a knife into pea size pieces. My family prefers apple over cherry and the apple version was absolutely wonderful! The cherry was good too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Wow...It's "lick the plate" good. (cinnamon - increase to 1 tsp, nutmeg - decrease to 1/4 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Made this for a potluck type cookout and everyone seemed to love it. Before it was dessert time it was half gone...nothing was left at the end. I liked it but thought it was a bit too sweet and yes, for the amount I used (oh and I used fresh strawberries and fresh cherries) I definitely think the crisp part needs to be doubled. Otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States