Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was excellent. I read through the reviews and added 1/2 tsp. Almond extract and doubled the topping. I also didn't melt the butter. We like a lot of topping but believe the original amount would have been fine. A true hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I read several of the reviews before I tried this. I cut the nutmeg to 1 tsp., and it still seemed a bit "too" spicy. I'd use 1/2 that next time. I also used the "cold" butter, as suggested by one reviewer. It was good... very sweet, but we liked it a lot. I may try a little less brown sugar and a smidge more oats next time. Additionally, it's best to let it sit a cool a bit. This helps in "jelling" the dish rather than serving it right out of the oven. Quick, easy, and yummy. I'll make it again with a few "tweaks".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
So good and so easy. Used "no sugar added " cherry pie filling and Splenda brown sugar (half the amount). Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
It was yummy! If you are like me and you love the crisp, I would make 1 1/2 times the crisp. It turned out great and tasted wonderful, but I will add more crisp next time to cover it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was a great recipe!! Everyone one I served it to raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I'm reviewing the topping on this recipe. I didn't have canned cherries so I used fresh (came out too juicy - but not the recipe's fault). The topping is excellent! I acually needed to double it (I like a LOT of topping) and it "crisped" up just fine, even with the melted butter. It wasn't soggy a bit. I will be using this topping recipe on all my fruit cobblers now! (a peach one is being made as we speak!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I used softened butter to get the crispy crumb texture I prefer. I would not use melted butter/margarine for this recipe. I also added some almond extract to the cherries and some vanilla to the topping. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoTakeoutForMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
The consistency as stated was mushy and did not turn out well. Not "crumby" at all. The flavor of what did turn out was OK but nothing to write home about. I only wish I had not tried this for the 1st time as a dish we shared with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Super easy & my dad loved it. I had half a can of raspberry pie filling left over from a layer cake. I made the same amount of filling and put half on the top and half on the bottom. It seemed to be just enough. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This recipe is a very good basic recipe for Cherry crisp. To make it FIVE STARS for me I used two cans of cherries in a 9 x 13 baking dish, doubled the topping and added shredded coconut for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States