Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My husband really liked it but I thought it was too sweet. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very easy and very tasty. I normally don't alter a recipe until I've made it once first, but I liked the idea that another user suggested; I doubled the "crisp" part of the recipe and put it in the bottom of the dish, then cherries, then more "crisp". This toned the richness of the cherries down a bit and as a bonus it actually made it easier to serve as it kind of helped hold it all together. I only had almonds on hand, so I used those and they worked well with this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made a cherry and an apple one and took into consideration the other reviews and made the following revisions-omitted the nutmeg completely and instead of using melted butter, I used pats of butter and cut them with a knife into pea size pieces. My family prefers apple over cherry and the apple version was absolutely wonderful! The cherry was good too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Wow...It's "lick the plate" good. (cinnamon - increase to 1 tsp, nutmeg - decrease to 1/4 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Made this for a potluck type cookout and everyone seemed to love it. Before it was dessert time it was half gone...nothing was left at the end. I liked it but thought it was a bit too sweet and yes, for the amount I used (oh and I used fresh strawberries and fresh cherries) I definitely think the crisp part needs to be doubled. Otherwise great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Four stars for ease of preparation but far too sweet for us. The only change I made was butter in place of margarine. Serving it with vanilla ice cream does help tone down the sweetness. Probably won't make it again but may use the topping for an apple crisp. Thanks Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
We make this with all sorts of fruits but the topping is the best and it's so easy even my husband can make it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
If you love cherry anything, you'll love this. Although its such a simple recipe, it never gets old, and its so good! Sweet and tarte with the nutty topping.. spoon some of this stuff piping hot over french vanilla ice cream- its absolutely heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnne923

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This dessert is great, but a little too sweet. I added crushed pineapple (1/2 small can) and now it's fabulous! Add whipped cream or vanilla ice cream to make it spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I used a quarter more ingredients for the topping (1/2 cup flour became 3/4, etc.) and next time I'll use another 21 oz can of cherry filling, as one can isn't enough. I also skipped the nutmeg, as that wasn't a favorite in my house. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States