Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
love it and it easy to make..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rich4kc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I prefer crisps to pies any day and this is simple, delicious and quick to prepare. It is rich and a scoop of ice cream is a nice way to top it off. I haven't tried it yet, but I am betting that chopped almonds would be an exquisite way to replace the pecans in the topping. There is a lot of nutmeg in this, but I really like nutmeg so I wouldn't adjust a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoosierbear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Love the recipe. I omitted the nutmeg because I am not a fan of it. I have also used this recipe and used blueberry pie filling and apple pie feeling. They all were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I was disappointed. Maybe it needs more topping, not sure. (?) And I'd cut back a bit on the nutmeg. My husband ate it with ice cream and said it was OK but I don't think I'll make it again. I'd make a "dump cake" instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abby
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Admittedly, my hudband and I devoured this in one day. It was SOOOO good! The pecans add a really nice touch that I would have never thought of. Really, I was just looking for a way to use cherry pie filling before it expired and this is an absolutely amazing way to use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This was so easy, only one complaint, way to much nutmeg. Next time I will decrease to 1/4 tsp or omit all together. I also used real butter melted, but next time will use cold and cut it in topping mixture so it will be crispier and less cake like. Was great with vanilla ice cream and I am looking forward to trying the recipe with other fruits. Husband loved it, but agreed about the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I tried this recipe tonight. The nutmeg was overpowering. The cheery pie mix wasn't sweetened by the topping, even when mixed together when served. I don't recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
My husband and I love this recipe and I didn't change a thing. Perfect the way it is. We even like it better than cherry pie, and easier to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I liked this recipe but made some changes. Concerned about sugar, I reduced 3/4 to 1/2 cup brown sugar and was still pretty sweet...could be less...although may depend on pie filling. I used a jar of Door County Cherry pie filling. Also, I omitted the nutmeg and ground fresh cardomom seed (just a twist)...company loved it with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I read the other reviews and made a very successful variation on this. List of modifications: less nutmeg, a double batch of crisp, quick oats (that's all I had), almonds instead of pecans, and softened butter. Instead of pie filling, I used frozen unsweetened cherries (thawed of course). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States