Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We're a family of 7 vegetarians and we really love this recipe. The kids thought the sour cream a bit tart so I usually scale back on that just a little bit and I'm also not a fan of crunchy onions in it so I use 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of onion for that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this for Easter and everyone raved over it. I did use a 2lb bag of hash browns instead of 1lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I gave it a three simply because I think the proportions were way off. For this recipe, I did things a little different. I used 2 pounds of cubed hash browns, I sauteed the onion till it was translucent. I only used one can of cream of chicken (I took the pieces of chicken out of it), I used half a cup of sour cream, and 3/4 cup of heavy cream. I wanted it to be more white than yellow. I mixed a cup and a half of the cheese into the wet ingredients, and I also mixed the frozen hash browns into it to. And for the layer on top, I put a small layer of shredded hash browns and a cup of cheese mixed together. I sprinkled this on top, and then patted it all down. I let it sit in the fridge for 2 hours, then I baked it at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. I took it out, sprinkled some crushed potato chips on top, then baked it for another 15 minutes. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used a two pound bag of hashbrowns, one pound seems like an error. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
With a couple of modifications, this is easily one of the most requested dishes for my family, must-have for holidays. My modifications: Increase potatoes to 30oz bag and use hash brown type (grated). Use 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of mushroom. Mix all together (except topping) instead of covering potatoes. Use rice krispies instead of corn flakes. Increase butter for topping to 3/4 cup. I also prefer to cook at 375 so the outside gets browned (my favorite part). Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have been making this for years, and I think it is delicious and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
A lot like a recipe I have called Death by Potatoes. With these ingredients it's impossible to not like this recipe. Turned out very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I didn't like it and neither did my sister. We are picky though. All I could taste was the soup. I ended up adding more potatoes and cheese and rebaking it. I might try it again but omit one or both of the cans of soup...maybe throw some mayo in instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Great potato casserole recipe. I usually modify it by spicing it up with curry powder, cayenne pepper, and garlic. I also use club or ritz crackers as a topping rather than rice krispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Honestly, I need to read all the reviews before I decide to make something, as everyone seems to change the recipe and rate it AFTER the changes! Frustrating. Here's why I rated it as such... Not blending the hashbrowns and mix was the first mistake. The sour cream mixture overpowered the entire dish! Didn't seem to have enough cheese flavor either. I definitely will be trying a different cheesy potato recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States