Cheesy Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I made this for Easter 2015. My kids and husband absolutely loved it! Favorite part of their Easter meal. Made some variations with some of the ingredients. I didn't have two cans of mushroom soup so I used 1 can of mushroom soup and 1 can cream of celery. Also used 1 lb frozen Ore Ida hashbrowns with onions and peppers. Instead of rice cereal for the topping, I used 2 sleeves of Ritz Crackers (crushed) with about 1 1/2 sticks of butter melted. Did not add the onion because it was in the hashbrowns already. Followed the rest of the recipe as directed. I made the day before and refrigerated overnight. It turned out so good. Will definitely make this again! Thank for having this recipe available for my Easter Dinner! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilman, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Followed this except used corn flke topping. It was just ok, will not make it again. I was not impressed. Pretty tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Line

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
We're a family of 7 vegetarians and we really love this recipe. The kids thought the sour cream a bit tart so I usually scale back on that just a little bit and I'm also not a fan of crunchy onions in it so I use 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of onion for that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Made this for Easter and everyone raved over it. I did use a 2lb bag of hash browns instead of 1lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I gave it a three simply because I think the proportions were way off. For this recipe, I did things a little different. I used 2 pounds of cubed hash browns, I sauteed the onion till it was translucent. I only used one can of cream of chicken (I took the pieces of chicken out of it), I used half a cup of sour cream, and 3/4 cup of heavy cream. I wanted it to be more white than yellow. I mixed a cup and a half of the cheese into the wet ingredients, and I also mixed the frozen hash browns into it to. And for the layer on top, I put a small layer of shredded hash browns and a cup of cheese mixed together. I sprinkled this on top, and then patted it all down. I let it sit in the fridge for 2 hours, then I baked it at 400 degrees for 45 minutes. I took it out, sprinkled some crushed potato chips on top, then baked it for another 15 minutes. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used a two pound bag of hashbrowns, one pound seems like an error. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
With a couple of modifications, this is easily one of the most requested dishes for my family, must-have for holidays. My modifications: Increase potatoes to 30oz bag and use hash brown type (grated). Use 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of mushroom. Mix all together (except topping) instead of covering potatoes. Use rice krispies instead of corn flakes. Increase butter for topping to 3/4 cup. I also prefer to cook at 375 so the outside gets browned (my favorite part). Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have been making this for years, and I think it is delicious and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
A lot like a recipe I have called Death by Potatoes. With these ingredients it's impossible to not like this recipe. Turned out very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States