Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2000
I can't believe how great this cake came out! It was sooo easy to make. I practically had all of the ingredients in my refridgerator. I'm a person to follow recipes to the letter, but I can't wait to try different variations of this cheesecake. The crust was a little soggy, but I mistakenly added twice as much butter. But it was still perfect. It didn't crack, although I did use the water bath as suggested by another person who reviewed this recipe. I have spent so much money buying those little, tiny, $6 and $7 cheesecakes at the grocery store. If I were to eat a piece of this cake and a store brought cake from their bakery I couldn't tell the difference. I think I'll make this cake again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
i'm only 16 and i made this cake for a family get together. everyone loved it, even my uncle from new york couldn't stop raving over it! it was sooo easy ans soooo yummy. only thing is that i still haven't figured out how to stop cracking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2000
This was wonderful, my husband doesn't usually eat cheese cake, but he loved it. For those who are new to baking like me, 15 graham crackers translates to 15 whole graham crackers, not sections. I highly recommend the Springform pan for a professional look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
This is an excellent cheese cake. My mother is very picky, and she usually buys those real expensive one's from Sam's...but she loved this one. It was easy, and not to mention cheap. The only problem I had was with it cracking, and I didn't like the crust, it was somewhat bitter. Other than that, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
This was my first time ever to bake a "real" cheesecake and it was well worth the work. Just be really careful to wrap the bottom and sides of your springform pan well with aluminum foil if you use the water bath, which I did and it turned our beautifully. I bake my cheesecake for about 10 or 15 minutes longer than the recipe called for, and I think it turned out with a wonderful texture; nice and firm, but not overcooked at all. My guests couldn't believe I made it! SINFULLY DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
The BEST cheesecake I have ever had, will be making it for Christmas dessert, everyone begs for it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
I have made this cheesecake over and over again. The only trouble I had was with the baking. A few times I made it on 350 degrees and cooked for 1 hour and let set in oven for 5 hours. It alway split and looked to be overcooked. I just put toppings on it and it was good. This last time I made it and needed no topping so it had to be perfect. I baked it on 300 degrees for a long time and let it sit in oven for about 3 hours. It did not split and looked perfect. It is really a good cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
Wonderful recipe! This was the first Cheesecake that I ever made and it certainly won't be the last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
This was my first Cheescake -- as side sauces, I used the White Chocolate Brandy sauce from the White Chocolate Cheesecake recipe as well as some cherry filling. My in-laws loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
I had never made a cheesecake before I tried this recipe and I was literally shocked at how easy it was to make and how fantastic it turned out. I got rave reviews from everyone who tried it, and no one would believe I'd never baked a cheesecake before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States