Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this cheesecake one time before, first time was with a good processor. No air bubbles anywhere, it was the best darned cheesecake I've ever had in my life. (I don't like cheesecake so says a lot) exactly what a few offer people are saying, I used a sporting form pan, set the oven to 350, turned it off and left out to just do it's thing. It came out absolutely perfect. The second time I made it I was drunk. Really drunk. When I woke up and my hangover finally left me, I tried the creation yet again and it was just as delicious. (I followed the recipe to the T) it was just as perfect. THAT being said, this is the simplest, most delicious cheese you will ever make. Honestly though, follow the recipe, don't check it, leave all the hot air in, if you must, peek at it through the oven when you turn it off but DON'T TOUCH IT. Leave it there for 5 hours at least and you will be very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
i've made this twice so far. the first time i followed the directions exactly. 2nd time... few minor changes (reduced the amount of flour and attempted to use a water bath). both times it had turned dark brown on 75% of the top of the cake. also the texture isn't that great and it is a bit eggy tasting, but other then that taste is fine. i was hoping the water bath would help with the browning but no go on that. but i'm not highly experienced in cheesecake making either and i am still learning this part of the cooking world. but following these instructions exactly has not worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Love this recipe. It never fails me. Great basic cheese cake. I use this recipe and create different toppings every time I make it, wonderful just plain with a great cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I will never buy another cheesecake, can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emery, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This will give you a rich but light, almost fluffy cheesecake. Wonderful! If you want a more dense cake, omit the flour. Here are some other tips. 1. Use a water bath, as with any cheesecake or custard. 2. Preheat oven to 350, then reset to 300 once the cake is in. Bake 60 min, the leave for 3-3.5 hours in unopened oven. Cake will be set with no browning or cracks. 3. Don't overfill the pan. 4. The recipe makes a bit too much. I use a couple ramekins for mini cakes. 5. I use buttermilk or milk soured with lemon juice in place of milk and love the extra tang. 6. Half Splenda, half sugar works beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Worth the wait!! Just be careful not to over mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I like this recipe, and it tasted really good, but I think you should decrease the amount of cooking time and the amount of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is really good! I'm no expert baker, but I think this turned out surprisingly well. We ate a few slices the same day I baked it and it tasted okay, but after 24 hours in the fridge it's really good. I followed the recipe carefully, but as it was baking in the oven, I read some reviews saying I should let the cream cheese reach room temperature before mixing. After baking the cake for one hour, I turned the oven off and let it cool in the oven, door closed. After an hour, the cake cracked and deflated, still in the oven, door never opened. Maybe it's because the cream cheese was cold? I don't know. But I don't really care, that's just aesthetics, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This tasted delicious, however it cracked like crazy. I followed the recipe precisely, even staying up until 2am so that it could cool down with the oven, but when I pulled it out it was cracked worse than any of my cheesecakes ever have been. Oh well! It's the taste that counts in our house!! Also, I always make a chocolate chip cookie crust rather than a graham cracker crust, it's delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I made this recipe 3 days ago, it's gone now, and I wish calories were a myth because I want to make it again. I don't understand the bad revies this has. mine turned out to be creamy, rich, sweet, cheese flavoured, light, and all over delicious and decadent. I followed the recipe exactly, while putting to good use my own experience baking cheesecakes; always grease the mold so it won't stick to the sides and break, always let it set inside the oven with the door cracked a bit so the cake won't crack, for a moister cake always bake in a ban marie, (I didn't use the ban marie and it turned out great though). Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 4,302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States