Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Fabulous! Cheesecake was amazing!! I used 1 1/2 c graham cracker, 1/2 c sugar, 1/4 c butter and 1 tea cinnamon as suggested for crust since I wasn't sure about the 15 crackers. I didn't over mix and baked in water bath, which unfortunately leaked into pan. I did leave in oven for 3 hours after baking and no cracks! Made it for husband for Fathers Day and he loved it! Next time I'm going to try the pan of water under the cake instead of in water do to my leaking mishap. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING!! It was my first attempt at making a cheesecake and it turned out perfect. I did not have vanilla extract in the house (much to my dismay!) so I used Penzey's Vietnamese Cinnamon instead - just eyeballed the amount...a little goes a long way! My fiancee and parents said it was the best cheesecake they have every had in any restaurant or anywhere else. I agreed! I left it in the oven with the temp off for 5 hours as the recipe said - and it did still crack a little but that was no problem at all. Thank you for sharing this recipe - I now have confidence in my baking ability! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I've made it so many times, and it's time for me to leave a review with my 2 cents. Firstly, the ingredients should all be at room temperature, they're easier to mix if they are. I use only a tablespoon of flour, and I sieve so there are no lumps. A water bath should be used, I just stuck a pan of hot water underneath and it works the same way. Don't overbake, or it will crack and have this strange lumpy texture when eating. Leave it to cool in the oven when the centre is still a little jiggly, as residual heat in the cheesecake will cook it through. I also used 1/3 of the recipe, which made 12 perfect mini cheesecakes (18 minutes in oven). So delicious, thanks so much for sharing!! Will never use another baked cheesecake recipe ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is the best NY style cheesecake recipe I have ever tried! I followed the suggestions of others such as room temperature cream cheese to start and leaving the cake in the oven to cool off and to avoid cracks. I didn't agree with some reviews that adding the flour made it taste "cakey". I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlesex, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This is the only cheesecake recipe I've used the past 6 years. My family thinks I'm the cheesecake queen because of it. My tips: make sure all ingredients are room temp before mixing to get the right consistency. Use a water bath. Add some cinnamon and nutmeg to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Adding my review to the 4,000 already posted because this is the best cheesecake recipe I have ever made. I made minor changes to the ingredients to make it Gluten Free(GF) The crust: 7oz Schar GF Shortbread cookies, Crumbled in the food processor, added 2 Tbsp brown sugar and 4 Tbsp melted butter. I also substituted 2 Tbsp GF flour for the 1/4 cup flour. Allow all ingredients to reach room temperature. I used my hand-mixer to combine the cream cheese & sugar, then added the milk. I hand-mixed the remaining ingredients carefully. The key to perfection is the baking. Followed instructions from an old cookbook for preparing the springform pan: Assemble the pan and liberally coat bottom and sides with butter. Cut a circle out of parchment paper and line the bottom of the pan pressing into the butter. Cut additional parchment to line the sides of the pan, making it 3 inches taller than the pan. Press paper into the buttered sides. Butter the parchment paper and press the crust into the bottom and sides. Preheat to 350 degrees and bake the crust for 10 minutes. Remove and allow crust to cool while preparing the cake. I followed LaurelC43 cooking instructions. After baking the crust, I lowered the temp to 225 degrees. I do not have a pan large enough to hold my cheesecake, so I put a water-filled pan on the bottom rack. I cooked it for 3 hours, 40 min. Turned off the oven and with a knife loosened the crust from the paper. Closed oven door and left it for 6 hours. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
The cheesecake itself is awesome. Great taste and perfect texture. I added a little bit of lemon zest and that was delicious. My only problem with this recipe is the crust. 15 graham crackers and 2 tablespoons of butter? Really? That doesn't make a crust, it makes crumbs. You need less graham crackers or more butter or both if you want the crumbs to stick together into something resembling a crust. Tweak the crust for sure. Otherwise, the cake is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Fabulous recipe! The bottom should be baked first for no longer than 10 mins at 350, otherwise it's too soggy. This is a great base recipe to add flavour to- I made lemon with lemon extract and grated rind from a lemon. Will make many times I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Perfection! My mother made this recipe for years and now I have made it for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Amazing!! :) perfectly light an delicious! Im in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 4,364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States