Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
This is the real thing!!! It's simply decadent. My husband, who doesn't like desserts, had 2 slices in 1 sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This recipe is awesome!!! I didn't change a thing. I followed Morena's directions and I had a perfect cheesecake. I topped it off with blueberry drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
now my favourite cheesecake, letting is rest the recommended amount of time is important. tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
USE AN OVEN RACK THERMOMETER! Using an oven thermometer is essential in baking. almost all ovens are calibrated incorrectly and temperatures do not heat to what you set on the dial. You can get an oven thermometer at Bed Bath and Beyond. Place on the rack of your oven in the middle of the oven to get an accurate temperature reading. The oven should be preheated for 15 minutes and temperature checked before baking any cake. If needed, adjust the oven temperature after the 15 minutes preheat. Be sure the temperature reading is proper before putting the cake in. Most ovens are "off" and do not heat to the proper temperature you set. Cheesecake is one of the types of cakes that will develop cracks if baked at too hot of a temperature and/or cool too quickly. That is why you leave it in the oven untouched without opening the door for several hours. NO PEEKING! If you use room temperature ingredients, follow this recipe exactly, preheat your oven properly, and check your oven temperature before putting the cake in, you should have no problem. The only thing I would add is the grated zest of 1/4 - 1/2 of a fresh lemon (use a Microplane tool or a lemon zester which is also available at Bed Bath and Beyond) -the lemon zest is an essential flavor in authentic New York cheesecake. It does not make the cake taste like lemon it just adds a deeper component to the flavor. For those that do not know what lemon zest is, it is only the thinnest most upper layer yellow part of the lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I've tried many cheesecake recipes and this one tops them all. It is like a deli New York cheesecake. It is dense but creamy. I did not bake it in a water bath, I placed a pan of boiling water under it. I had a nice golden brown top and absolutely no cracks. (I greased the sides of my pan). This cake is not too rich! It would be great with a chocolate ganache or any topping really. I'm saving this recipe in my family recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Qualls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is my go to cheesecake recipe. I have made other cheesecakes that are much more complicated and take a lot longer and I always find myself going back to this recipe. It is the best! Follow the directions exactly and you will be so pleased. When my family wants cheesecake, this is the one they are always talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
The reviewer who said the temperature was too high is correct. I just made this cheesecake and as it is cooling, enormous cracks appeared. Cracks are OK but brown edges and a dry texture is not. I am not a novice baker and should have reviewed other recipes I have made. However my son preferred a "classic" cheesecake to a flavored one and I was sucked in by the positive reviews of the classic cheesecake. I recommend baking at 300, not 350. Oh well, will dress this cheesecake up with a strawberry topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Loved it! I had a bad experience the first time I tried to make a cheesecake in a springform, and because of that, haven't attempted one for a long, long time. So happy to have come across this. Simple, straight forward and oh-so-yummy! I did want something more than just a plain cheesecake, so I added eight ounces of melted (and then brought to room temp) Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate. I can't wait to play around and try some other variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luckeemee13
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Simply deelish! I did change the crust from graham crackers to 50 Nilla wafers. I'm not a fan of graham and I found the vanilla wafers lighter. Something else not mentioned is the water bath, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! Next to NOT over beating the batter, I believe that a water bath aids in the cheesecake NOT cracking! I took the advice of something I read on this site and used one of those cooking bags instead of tin foil for the bath. I thought, "what a great idea! That way there is no chance of the water seeping into the cheesecake!" Worked like a charm and I'll use that again!!!! This was the most beautiful, perfect, deliciously simple cheesecake I have ever made! I brought it to a Christmas party and people actually thought it came from a bakery! (No one touched the store bought cheesecake another guest brought!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Delicious! This was my first attempt at making cheesecake and family said it's the best they've ever had. Excellent recipe, Chantal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States