Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Everyone enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My cheesecake turned out completely awful. Okay, that's a half truth. The cheesecake itself tasted heavenly, but it wont be winning any beauty pageants anytime soon. I'll accent Morena's statement---the destruction of my cheesecake was my own doing. This was my very first attempt at making cheesecake that didn't come from a box (I hate those so very much, but it was what I had been accustomed to). That alone makes it special. I lacked the springform pan (again, all my fault), but all hope wasn't completely lost. There were cracks and at first it seemed mushy in the middle, but after placing it in the freezer for a few hours, it pulled together and tastes amazing. It was thicker than I imagined it would be, and my family loved it. This was only a prototype---one that will be made again and again. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by rtambo
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this cheesecake for Easter and it was very simple to put together. However, I was unsure of the amount of graham crackers to use. It states fifteen, but is it fifteen whole crackers or what!? I used fifteen whole with the recommended amount of butter and it just wasn't a good crust once baked. I would alter the crust ingredients next time. My cheesecake also cracked although I followed the instructions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Fabulous cheesecake! Made 100% as written no changes. Simple and classic with the flavor and texture of a bakery/restaurant quality cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DonsAvocados
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Baked my first cheesecake with this recipe & it received rave reviews! I did read some reviews first & made the following changes. 1.) The crust 11/2C. Graham cracker crumbs, 1/4C.melted butter, 1/2tsp cinnamon & 1/4C. sugar. 2.) Kept the filling the same with the addition of 1TBS. Almond extract. 3.) Reduced the oven temperature to 325* still baked for 1 hour & placed a 9x13 glass baking dish of water on the rack under the cheesecake. Did not open the oven until 3 hours later & stored in the fridge until the next day. No cracks & a light golden edge. Now lets see if I can do that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I wished I would have read the bad reviews before I invested in this recipe. It cracked, turned brown on top and there was no way I could have left it in a semi-hot oven for 5-6 hours. This recipe also made way more than I needed for a 9" pie plate - don't have a spring form pan. I had the 10" pie, and 5 ramekins of cake! The taste is okay - nothing special in the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gkrisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this cheesecake one time before, first time was with a good processor. No air bubbles anywhere, it was the best darned cheesecake I've ever had in my life. (I don't like cheesecake so says a lot) exactly what a few offer people are saying, I used a sporting form pan, set the oven to 350, turned it off and left out to just do it's thing. It came out absolutely perfect. The second time I made it I was drunk. Really drunk. When I woke up and my hangover finally left me, I tried the creation yet again and it was just as delicious. (I followed the recipe to the T) it was just as perfect. THAT being said, this is the simplest, most delicious cheese you will ever make. Honestly though, follow the recipe, don't check it, leave all the hot air in, if you must, peek at it through the oven when you turn it off but DON'T TOUCH IT. Leave it there for 5 hours at least and you will be very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
i've made this twice so far. the first time i followed the directions exactly. 2nd time... few minor changes (reduced the amount of flour and attempted to use a water bath). both times it had turned dark brown on 75% of the top of the cake. also the texture isn't that great and it is a bit eggy tasting, but other then that taste is fine. i was hoping the water bath would help with the browning but no go on that. but i'm not highly experienced in cheesecake making either and i am still learning this part of the cooking world. but following these instructions exactly has not worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Love this recipe. It never fails me. Great basic cheese cake. I use this recipe and create different toppings every time I make it, wonderful just plain with a great cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I will never buy another cheesecake, can't beat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emery, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 4,368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States