Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Sherry
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
OMG...this recipe is rediculously delicious! I made the filling exactly as written, and filled 2 premade graham crusts. I put both cheesecakes on large cookie sheet, poured approximately 4 cups water on bottom of pan to create a "water bath," baked 350 for 45 minutes, turned oven off and let sit for roughly 2 1/2 with door closed. Amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justin
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This was my first time making cheesecake, and it turned out amazing! No cracks, no sinking in the middle, etc. the consistency is perfect after you refrigerate it overnight. I was paranoid that I would mess up somewhere along the way because this was my first cheesecake, but thanks to the pointers that other people gave in their reviews on here, I had no issues. I did change a few things, however, based on other reviews. I used a water bath, which I assume is the reason mine didn't crack. I also completely left out the flour and milk, and it turned out amazing. It's like restaurant quality, seriously. I'm not sure what the point of the milk and flour is, because this cheesecake is incredible without them, and no other recipes I looked at called for either of those things. For the crust, again per other reviews, I used 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs (the kind in a can you can buy already crushed), 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1/4 cup butter...turned out great, you can actually taste the flavor in it, unlike a lot of cheesecakes where the crust is pretty bland. If you make the changes I specified and just follow directions carefully, yours will come out perfectly. I'll be using this recipe for the foreseeable future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times and I have had nothing but raves. I have had problems with the cake cracking, but this time I will try putting shortening on the sides and hopefully it will not crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingislife
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Made it for the first time for my friend's graduation. Came out pretty well, I didn't use a water bath or use the flour (because I ran out). Therefore, it cracked but it didn't matter b/c I improvised and used the leftover of my sour cream to cover it. I had 8 oz left and I added 2 tablespoons of sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. However, it wasn't enough so I suggest doubling that. For the blueberry sauce, I put a pint of blueberries, 2 tablespoons sugar, and a lemon zested and juiced into a small saucepan on medium heat. Then I simmered it for 5 minutes and waited for it to cool. It was simple and my friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This has pretty much been my go to recipe for cheesecake for years! I sometimes use cream instead of milk and I have also tweaked for a Dulce De Leche cheese cake. Everyone loves LOVES this recipe and it always turns out perfect! My friend whose family is Italian said this cheesecake is very close to his moms recipe his family made. Just take your time, don't over mix and make sure you use heavy duty foil for your water bath. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I loved this cheesecake, it was delicious, my family loved it. My cheesecake cracked a little, but i think i had mixed it a little bit too much. While transporting it to the fridge it slid off my plate and hit the ground, that was also my fault. overall great recipe, you have to love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
1st time I ever made this and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I don't know...with all the raves I expected it to be better than it was. It's okay, but the texture and flavor are not what I love in a NY cheesecake: it's more eggy than I prefer, and other than a strong vanilla flavor it's kind of bland. I did make sure the ingredients were at room temp, didn't overmix, and kept a pan of boiling water in the oven during baking. Disappointed, because I don't make cheesecake very often, plus all these ingredients add up moneywise! I think next time I'll try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I recently made a cheese cake for my co-workers they literally devoured it great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Fabulous! Cheesecake was amazing!! I used 1 1/2 c graham cracker, 1/2 c sugar, 1/4 c butter and 1 tea cinnamon as suggested for crust since I wasn't sure about the 15 crackers. I didn't over mix and baked in water bath, which unfortunately leaked into pan. I did leave in oven for 3 hours after baking and no cracks! Made it for husband for Fathers Day and he loved it! Next time I'm going to try the pan of water under the cake instead of in water do to my leaking mishap. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States