Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I think this is basically a great recipe for New York style Cheesecake. I made it the first time as instructed with the exception of adding sugar, cinnamon, and a dash of nutmeg to my crust mixture. I also let the ingredients come to room temperature, wrapped the bottom up the sides of my pan in aluminum foil, and baked in a water bath. I ended up with an overly brown top, no cracks, and too wet in the middle for my taste. I like a creamy, yet fairly firm texture. This is a recipe for those who like their NY Cheesecake's VERY creamy. I made it again and changed a little more up. The first time, after adding the flour last I had noticed more lumps. This time I whisked about 2/3 cup of milk (instead of the 3/4)and the 1/4 cup of flour in a bowl before adding to the cream cheese/ sugar mixture. I added the eggs last after the rest of the ingredients, then detached the bowl and stirred a bit by hand. I baked the cake in the oven at 325 for 1 hour and let it cool inside for 3 hours. I opened the door and left it for another hour before storing in the fridge. I ended up with a beautiful top, a creamy but firm texture,and enjoyed it more to my liking. I added these alterations to my comment, because several people tweak recipes to their liking and even though it changes some, it is so other people can read this and try it to appease a preferred taste or texture similar to mine. This recipe is great for tweaking or leaving as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah245

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zulema
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for cheesecake. I love that the texture can be modified to be creamier by leaving out the flour or made drier and more cake-like by adding a little more flour. I change my crust recipe to a shortbread one (found on "New York cheesecake III" recipe which i also use but prefer this one with less ingredients) its 1 1/2 Cups flour, 1/3 Cup white sugar, 1/2 unsalted butter, and one egg. Mix the flour, sugar and butter together until butter is small crumbs then add egg and flatten into a greased springform pan. Bake for 15 mins at 400. Let cool, re-grease the pan sides and place extra long foil around the pan. Make sure the foil is covering the sides completely and then make the cheesecake. While you make the cheesecake place a large saucepan on the stove and fill with water. Bring to a boil. I place my springform pan into a large cake pan and fill the cheesecake. I put this in the oven and carefully pour the water into the surrounding cakepan. The water should come up to about 1/2 way. Then I let bake 1 to 1 1/2 hours until cheesecake is fairly firm. This is called a bain-marie (water bath). It ensures even baking and keeps the cheesecake moist. Ive never had a cheesecake crack when I do this. I take mine out of the oven, wait a few mins and pour the leftover water out. Remove the foil and pop into the fridge or freezer. This all sounds like a lot of work but its really not lol. My family, friends and co-workers beg for this cheesecake and this makes it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I use this recipe a lot. It is a lot fluffier than an average cheesecake but it tastes exactly the same. I have to make an oatmeal crust since I have a vegetable oil intolerance (probably a chemical since I can eat pressed oils) and graham crackers always have some sort of vegetable oil. It still turns out really excellent. It always cracks but I don't worry too much, its easier to top the cheesecake with fruit sauce and pretend its not there than worry about water baths and cooling times. The hardest part is keeping the boys away from it for a day to truly set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Remarkable! I made it as described and took to a dinner event. The best compliment was that it was better than Cheesecake Factory! You can't top that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Worst cheesecake recipe ever! Made this for 4th of July. Followed all the steps but the cheesecake didn't even taste like cheesecake! Cooling is way too long I checked other recipes for cheesecake and it had way less waiting time.This took Seven hours and 30 min of my life that I will never get back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ere Uerjoi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Although the taste is excellent but a bit creamy for our taste, I could not in good conscience give it five stars because the batter is way off ratio. As another reviewer said, there is enough for two 9-inch cake. The temperature is also too hot. At 150C, my cake still burnt a bit. It will probably be badly burnt if I went with the recommended temperature of 175C. For people who want a cheesecake not that moist, I suggest at least doubling the flour. Oh, and I cut the sugar to 120g instead of the 300g called for. It felt too excessive and may cover the cheese taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Our cheesecake turned out perfect! My daughter helped. We started out with room temp ingredients and were careful not to "over mix " . My oven runs hot, so we decreased the temp to 325. Other than that, the hardest part was waiting for it to cool and chill before eating. SO, we had cheesecake for breakfast. :) I used the Supreme Strawberry Topping recipe from this site to make strawberry and blueberry toppings. I am so pleased with how well this cheesecake turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Made this for a bachelorette weekend … people raved about it. Thanks for the great recipe, I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 4,313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States