Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I was planning on making this for thanksgiving for my family. It didn't exactly work out. First of all, I used half a cup of butter for the crust because there was no way the mere 2 tbs was going to be enough to stay crust like. I put the cheesecake in for less than the hour recommended, but my cake still ended up burnt and cracked. This recipe disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainview, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have been making this recipe for many years now. This is a wonderful recipe that anyone can enjoy. I also enjoy swirling fruit on top of it before baking. It turns out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Excellent! Beat in other ingredients by hand after creaming sugar and butter with mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjclements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cameron Moody
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is THE cheesecake recipe. And it's so versatile! I've used it to make pumpkin, strawberry, blueberry and blackberry cheesecakes. It can be used with a graham cracker crust, an oreo crust, a nut-based crust, anything. I've used this recipe at least 10 times now. It's very difficult to do though. The recipe has to be followed very precisely, the mixing has to be PERFECT (make sure it's smooth as silk), and you absolutely have to leave it alone in the oven (don't check on it!). Also, if you don't have a springform pan, I really wouldn't recommend trying this recipe. It's very difficult without it. Use a water bath if you can manage it. It really helps prevent cracking from temperature variations. Grease the sides of the pan, it prevents cracking. And I personally like to put parchment paper on the base of the springform pan, then put the side on over it, close up the pan, then cut off the excess paper around the sides. This makes it very easy to move it around after you're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameron Moody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scotts Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I have tried many different cheesecake recipes and this is the only one I will make FOREVER. Every other recipe something goes wrong. This one is fool proof and tastes divine !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Wallace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have made cheesecake for 4 years and always use this recipe. A friend of mine who usually does not like cheesecake even loves the cheesecake I make!! I usually make half the ingredients and reduce the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup to suit mine and my friends' taste. There's nothing else I could change about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Best cheesecake ever!! It's my go-to dessert to impress! Everyone always loved it. I do add about twice the butter for crust tho. Just delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I love it all, the texture, the flavor, the taste.. amazing ! I will definately do another one soon ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by notbettycrocker
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This was my first attempt at making a cheesecake and it came out amazing! I followed the directions and took one users suggestion of using a spoon after mixing the cream cheese and sugar together. I did not use a water bath, just l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 4,502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States