Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by marcelacamargo
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is the best cheesecake I've ever had in my life! I ended up using soy milk because I didn't have regular milk but it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This turned out so beautiful!! The third cheesecake recipe I've tried and this one I will keep as a staple. Perfect texture, very creamy, very cheesy, with just the right amount of cakey. My batter did come out lumpy because I used fresh-out-of-the-yogurt-maker homemade sour cream, but after it's baked you can't really tell. I used a smaller pan so I scaled all the ingredients to 2/3 of the original, used 1/2 cup truvia (2 diabetics in the family), and used seeds of a vanilla bean instead of the extract. Those are the only changes I made. Oh, and I also used a waterbath. I blind baked my crust first, cooled, wrapped plastic wrap tightly around the bottom, then added 2 extra layers of aluminum foil. No soggy crust. My cheesecake did have a brown skin forming on top though, not sure why, but probably because the top was burning. Next time I'll try baking with a loosely covered foil on top. Great recipe, but probably wont turn out as well if you don't know tips & tricks or have experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I have failed 2 times before success~ I follow every steps on the1st time, and it crack. I add a tray of water on the bottom rack, and it crack again, but smaller crack~ now I have to lower the oven to 300F°, and bake for 90 minutes, and place the foil wrapped baking pan in a larger baking pan filled with water, than leave it in the oven for 6 hours. I finally success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
YOUR LIFE WILL NEVER BE THE SAME IF YOU MAKE THIS CHEESECAKE. there i was, an innocent amatuer baker, when i stumbled upon this cheesecake recipe. what fun! how delicious! seems simple enough! holy that's a lot of cream cheese! all of these were among my thoughts as i prepared to make this cake. and they all proved true. but i was not prepared for the enormity of cheesecake i would be creating. IT IS MASSIVE DO NOT LET IT INTO YOUR HOME IT WILL TAKE OVER YOUR LIFE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
LOVE LOVE LOVE CHEESECAKE AND THIS RECIPE IS THE BOMB DIGGIDY. It's important to follow the recipe because substituting for reduced fat cheese causes the cake to be more pudding-like. I've also used a waterbath a couple of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sahar Muhammad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I love this recipe! I followed it step by step, never making a cheesecake in my life, and it turned out perfect. It was a big hit in my family I am being asked to do this cheesecake for the next family holiday event. I am 13 years old and it was such a simple recipe to follow, if I can follow it being so young anyone else can do it. I recommended this recipe to anyone who wants to make a cheesecake and has never done it before. However, i do recommend to look up tutorials on YouTube about making a cheesecake, you would be able to get lots of tips and tricks on how to make the perfect cheesecake, and you'll be worry free when you want to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I leave out the flour and bake in a water bath at 320° for 70 minutes. It's sinfully good and always looks beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tabby03
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was my first attempt at making a cheesecake, it did crack in the baking process (after reading reviews probably due to slight over beating) but I didn't mind too much bc I covered it with a berry glaze anyway ;) Turned out awesome! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabby03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jerry
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is the best NY cheesecake I have seem, and Joan says the best tasting. I followed directions with one change. I cooked the cheesecake in a Freling glass bottomed springform placed in a Cheesecake Moat pan the moat is a pan in the middle of a pan allowing you to surround your creation with water that can never get in your springform. The only two changes made were to cook in a water bath, using the cheesecake most to protect the cake from any leakage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Dayna
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Such a great, easy, and perfect recipe! Wouldn't change a thing! I don't own a cheesecake pan so I used a regular 9x13 pan with aluminum foil lining it. This allowed me to lift the cheesecake perfectly. Love love...love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 4,427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States