Chantal's New York Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
It's a simple recipe that's easy to follow. I loved the results. I poured my mixture into pre-made graham cracker tins. I used 5-pkgs of cream cheese, and increased my ingredients to the next level. My mixture allowed me to pour 3-tins and still had a little extra. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. I followed Morena's advice the second time cause the first time i was having a hard time blending it with a spoon and over beat it and it cracked. It was still an excellent cheesecake even though i cracked it. I like it with a Graham cracker crust instead i just used 2 cups Graham cracker crumbs and a half cup butter with 4 tbs sugar to male a wonderful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Made it as described and everyone loved it. I wrapped my spring form pan in foil and placed in a water bath. Cooled with oven door closed for 4 hours then refrigerated over night. Cooked perfectly no cracks and had a slightly golden top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rainertime
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Beautiful and tasty! Made this for easter dinner so i decorated with eggies and lindt chocolate like a little birds nest. Followed the tips but didn't do the water bath and turned out lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I am a cheesecake fanatic and for years have been making Lindy's New York Cheesecake. Only problem I had was consistency in the results. I followed most of this recipe except I used heavy cream instead of milk and I also add orange zest from one orange. I like a nice smooth creamy texture and not too dense (dry as one review state LAURELC43 has a very good review except I was trying to get away from the long cooking time.). When mine came out this way it was to die for according to many of my friends and family and church family. The thing I find about this recipe is it is almost foolproof. I baked at 350 for 1 hour but let sit in oven without opening door for 3 hours. Also, I might cut the flour down to 2 TBLS like she did. you could see how it firmed up but did not get dense and was really creamy. I hesitate to even try 5-6 hours as stated in original recipe. A few things I have found are, make sure cream cheese is soft. I usually make mine in late afternoon after cream cheese has been sitting out all day. Then put in oven and take out when time for bed and put in fridge. I also found a lot of people who don't like the actual taste of cream cheese tasting cheesecake actually prefer the orange zest or maybe even lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Like all other reviews, this is the best cheesecake, foolproof recipe, you'll ever find. I did not have enough time to let mine sit in an oven so I pulled it out about an hour after baking and put it in the refrigerator. It did crack as I did not do it the right way. But to me - who cares!!! Cover those cracks with some berries. I combined cut up strawberries, blueberries and raspberries in a bowl and tossed with about 2-3 tablespoons strawberry glaze, just enough to coat the berries. Glaze can be found where the strawberries are in the supermarket. I also doubled the graham crackers and butter for a thicker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinglife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Everyone enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My cheesecake turned out completely awful. Okay, that's a half truth. The cheesecake itself tasted heavenly, but it wont be winning any beauty pageants anytime soon. I'll accent Morena's statement---the destruction of my cheesecake was my own doing. This was my very first attempt at making cheesecake that didn't come from a box (I hate those so very much, but it was what I had been accustomed to). That alone makes it special. I lacked the springform pan (again, all my fault), but all hope wasn't completely lost. There were cracks and at first it seemed mushy in the middle, but after placing it in the freezer for a few hours, it pulled together and tastes amazing. It was thicker than I imagined it would be, and my family loved it. This was only a prototype---one that will be made again and again. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by rtambo
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this cheesecake for Easter and it was very simple to put together. However, I was unsure of the amount of graham crackers to use. It states fifteen, but is it fifteen whole crackers or what!? I used fifteen whole with the recommended amount of butter and it just wasn't a good crust once baked. I would alter the crust ingredients next time. My cheesecake also cracked although I followed the instructions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Fabulous cheesecake! Made 100% as written no changes. Simple and classic with the flavor and texture of a bakery/restaurant quality cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States