Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This has become one of my all-time favorites. I found this recipe here about a year ago, and have made it a zillion times since then. Everyone LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was a great recipe...easy to make and very tasty! I did substitute black beans and added a cup of rice. It also makes much more than the serving size indicated, but we don't mind these leftovers. It is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Great Soup! Very filling. I'm not a fan of kidney beans, so I used black beans instead. I also did not have enough broth after cooking the chicken breasts so I added regular canned chicken broth. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This is a very good and flavorful soup. I used diced tomatoes with jap peppers to give it more heat. I also used light sour cream and only about a half of tbs of olive oil to reduce the fat content. Give this soup a try.. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
This soup is AWESOME! Definitely makes more than 8 servings, but that's okay because you'll love the leftovers! I added okra and use hot salsa and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
My family loved it. I added a cup of instant brown rice for extra fiber and thickness-that was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
This was the best soup!!! Very spicy and full of flavor. It's also healthy if you substitute the sour cream for non-fat sour cream. It made so much and my husband and I will be eating this for a week - but it's so yummy that we don't care.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
My husband and I loved this soup! He said that I outdid myself with this one. Like other users, I added a cup of instant brown rice and used black beans instead of the kidney beans. I also used ALL of the water in which I cooked the chicken, not just the 5 cups the recipe called for. An all-around excellent soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
This soup was awesome!!!!!!!!! My kids LOVED it. It tastes more like a taco than anything. I absolutely loved it. I would make it over and over and over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This soup was excellent and very tasty. My children and I enjoyed it very much. Since we didn't like our food spicy, I cut the chili powder to about 1 1/2 Tbsp. Also, I put a spoonful of the sour cream in each bowl of soup instead of putting the sour cream in the soup pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States