Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Absolutely delicious!! A few adjustments I would suggest: I only used 3 bouillon cubes and didn't add the 1/2 teaspoon of salt -it would have been too salty with the extra cubes/salt. I added two bay leaves to the chicken boil. I used super sweet frozen corn- the sweet little nit bits where a perfect addition! I also threw in some crushed up tortilla chips on the top of each serving. Enjoy it's the best soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
SO GOOD!! My version: I only used petite diced tomatoes. I don't add the sour cream because I freeze the soup. Then I add sour cream to each bowl individually when it's served. I eat it with 'scoop' tortilla chips instead of a spoon. I also keep frozen shredded chicken in the freezer so when I make this soup I can skip the 'work' part of the chicken prep and just add everything to the pot, simmer, and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This is one of my favorites. It is so flavorful and satisfying. I prefer to boil a whole chicken and use its broth. It freezes well, too. Since it makes such a large amount, I freeze the leftovers in individual serving containers. Great for a cool fall evening. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Top with Fritos, sour cream and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Little bit on the salty side for my taste. I suggest leaving out the extra salt since you can always add more later. Otherwise, excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This makes way more than 8 servings as it has 8 chicken breasts and then 8 cans of various ingredients. Also, not sure how it can be ready in 45 minutes if I am simmering chicken for an hour? I didn't have 5 cups of broth left after simmering for 45 minutes. Very spicy and salty. Next time will only add 2 bouillons and half of salt. Omitted soup. Don't like to make soup out of soup. The sour cream is an absolute must. The creaminess, in my opinion, is what makes it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I just made this for lunch, and it is really good!! I will make this often with leftover chicken, as I did today. Very easy and such a nice blend of flavors. It uses ingredients I usually have in the pantry, so that's an added benefit. I topped my bowl with a couple of slices of avocado, and a dollop of sour cream and hot sauce. If I had the family here, this whole pot would be gone already. Thanks for this one! This recipe is super as written and can easily adapt to whatever spices you want to add or delete, and whatever veggies are in season. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I really like this recipe. Good with cheesey garlic breadsticks. My boyfriend didn't care for the corn, and I don't think that would be a significant omission, although I liked it. He suggested celery instead. The only issue I had with the recipe was that it just said to use a "large pot" and didn't say what size. I figured a 6 quart pot would be just right, but I had to take out 6 cups of liquid to make it all fit. Still really tasty and I look forward to making it again, just scaled down for 2. I haven't tried the leftovers yet, but I bet they'll be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Such a delicious spicy way to enjoy chicken. Lots of ingredients make for a big mess to clean up, but it's well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MiCoAmazing

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
this soup got me "souper" excited about to make it!! I used some other suggestions that were previously mentioned..i upped the garlic to 4 cloves, only one large tin of crushed tomatoes, no whole ones..an I also did add corn or kidney beans but rather put in brn rice..used my homemade salsa - very fresh. added chili powder towards the end lil by lil till my husband would still eat it..omitted salt, enough with cannned tomato soup an oxo cubes..bought a rotisserie chicken an deskinned it..much lazier but end results were totally narly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States