Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
A friend made this soup for me, I had to have the recipe. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmcsusn
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I took the advice of others and used black beans instead of chili beans.....other than substituting chopped fresh tomatoes for the canned whole tomatoes and adding some red pepper, I made it exactly as the recipe shows. It was great! I garnished it with a handful of fried tortilla strips, some avocado chunks and a dollop of sour cream.....a quick squeeze of lime....very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This soup is amazing! I was skeptical at first and wanted to alter the recipe but no need. Perfect as is. I loved it so much I joined allrecipes just to give it the review it deserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Amazing soup! I made it a little easier - instead of boiling the chicken I chopped it up and cooked until almost done and then added the onions and cooked a bit longer and then added everything else. Instead of the 5 cups of broth I just added 1-2 cups of water and it came out perfect. You could leave out the water and have it be more like a chili. I made this for work and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This was delicious! I made it exactly as written but halved the chili powder since 3 TB seemed liked a lot. It was perfect. I also didn't add the sour cream or shredded cheese until dishing the soup in bowls. I will say it made WAY more than 8 servings. We had enough for probably 12 people. I just froze the extra. Terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Tastes like chicken chili, but does taste good if you're in the mood for chili. Certainly is a different take on chicken soup. My family liked it and I've added it to my recipe box for occasional use. I made it as written but reduced the amount of liquid by 2 cups since my pot seemed to be getting too watery. I agree with another reviewer that it would be great over rice, as a gumbo, if you don't add the broth. I did taste it before adding the broth and found it tasted very good. For the next time I will not add the broth or whole tomatoes to reduce the very tomatoey flavor and serve the sour cream on the side just to limit calories. Although not a 5 star rating, certainly an overall thumbs up. Just a minor point, my prep and cooking time took a full 1 1/2 hours. Don't see how it could be done in much less time. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pearl City, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This is good. Need to be in the mood for it - but brings a different flavor to a chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meika
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used most of the basic ingredients of this recipe. On top of that, I prepared it in the crockpot. Since I was preparing it for two adults and our two yr old, I had to adjust the servings. 2 cups water and cooked the chicken and seasonings for 90 mins, took the chicken out to shred, placed the rest of the ingredients, salsa, tomato soup, diced tomatoes, and chicken into the pot for the remaining time left. After coming in from the SNOW and COLD, this was right on time to warm us up. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Unbelievably amazing!! I make this all the time. I make a regular batch and freeze in serving size portions. Makes it great for a quick lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was a delicious recipe and my family loved it too! And it makes a whole lot of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States