Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
We enjoyed this soup but thought that it was overall too tomato-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I changed this recipe a bit due to what I could find at the store and dietary restrictions. I halved the recipe. For half the recipe, I used one medium can of tomato sauce without salt and one medium can of diced tomatoes instead of the diced, whole and souped tomatoes. I also used frozen corn and guessed on the amount and used a can of black beans rather than chili beans. I also skipped the parsley as I don't have any and omitted the sour cream. Served with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was such an incredible recipe- EVERYONE asked for the recipe. I used black beans instead of chili beans. Even half the recipe served more than 6 people. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Love it! This is very tasty, but not too spicy! Perfect! Everyone loved it! Cooking for a smaller group than 8? I would suggest cutting this recipe in half, but if you like TONS of leftovers (of awesome soup) make the whole recipe! Again, it's very flexible. You can almost change anything and still get the same taste! Love it, thanks Aunt AF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Cold day today - made this today to just have for lunches, we had planned to go out for dinner tonight - hubby has been doing "quality control tests " on this Now he doesn't want to out for dinner , wants to stay home and eat more- so good ! So many ingredients are already in your pantry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was a great recipe! I tried it for the first time last night and it was a hit. Of course I changed a few things but it was only due to personal preference. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is really delicious! I made it in the crock pot - I put everything except olive oil, corn, beans and sour cream in the crock pot. I used all the tomatoes and then poured in a little water and the rest chicken stock to fill the crock pot (leaving enough room for beans and corn). I used about half the chicken simply because my crock pot is too small for that amount of soup. I cooked on low for about 7 hours. I then shredded the chicken and added the beans, sour cream (low fat) and corn and let it cook for another 2 hours or so . I used frozen corn, pinto beans and fresh hot salsa. I also added some cumin and extra chili powder. In the future I will probably skip the peeled, whole tomatoes because I don't feel they add much. This would be great with rice also. This tastes like chili made with chicken and I love it! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Delicious and easy! I halved the recipe and dumped everything (minus the olive oil) in my crockpot for about six hours. It turned out great. I left out the sour cream but otherwise stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Do yourself a favor and make this for dinner tonight or tomorrow! It's so incredibly delicious and it makes a lot. Our 2 year-old wasn't interested, but the parents loved it and ate it for 3+ days later. Such a good deal and a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonshelton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
As a mom of 5 kids who needs a easy go to soup that everyone loves, well this is it. I have made this a dozen times and have several bags of it frozen in my freezer for this purpose I double the recipe. I add a extra can of beans or 2 because that is how my family likes it. I do NOT add as much chili powder as suggested (the first time I did that it was way to hot for my family). I use Greek yogurt in place of the sour cream none of my family can tell the difference and it is healthier. When I do not have time to boil the chicken I use chicken broth and a few cans of chicken, not quite as tasty but will do in a pinch. You cannot go wrong with this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States