Carrot-Sweet Potato Mash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Yummy!! This was soooo good! I followed the directions to the "T" except I didn't add raisins. Was super easy and quick to make, and my hubby and 5 yr old gobbled it up. Will definately add to my regular rotation of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I modified this recipe, I was trying to use up a can of sweet potatoes and a can of carrots. I'm sure it would have been even better with fresh veggies! I ommitted the brown sugar...canned sweet taters come packed in syrup...even though I drained that off... I used 2 cans sweet taters, 1 can diced carrots, 1/2 cup applesauce. didn't have any raisins. It was good and done in less than 10 mins. Still pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I skipped the raisins. Still delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This recipe is great. I followed this recipe closely, except that I left out the raisins. I'm hoping to make this for Thanksgiving, and my mom hates raisins. It was good when I first tasted it, I liked that the carrots were a little less done then the sweet potatoes, it gave some nice texture contrast. It was, however, a little bland. So I added 1/8th tsp of both cardamom and cinnamon. Wow, did that make the flavor really pop. Next time I might decrease the butter a little, maybe that will give it a slightly fresher flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Socorro, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PolkaDot
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
A great twist for sweet potatoes! I used an electric hand mixer to mash, which didn't mash the carrots very well, but I like the texture with the lumps in it. I used cinnamon applesauce, a little less brown sugar & butter, and no raisins (just out of laziness - next time I'll put them in). Served with barbecued chicken breasts and steamed green beans. Will make regularly, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Fantastic! Quick & easy! I doubled it and actually didn't have any fresh carrots, so I used a can of carrots (mashed them in with drained cooked sweet potatoes). While I'm sure fresh is better - still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good and very easy to make. I used a yam instead of a sweet potato, cut the amount of raisins in half, and added pecans in their place, which turned out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This was really good. I used a little less butter and sugar to prepare for my 1-year old. We both really enjoyed it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed this. It was a nice change from the more traditional sweet potato dishes. I used cinnamon applesauce, as I thought the cinnamon would be a nice addition. I also decreased the brown sugar to 2 T., which just the right amount of sweetness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
carrots cook faster than sweet potatoes---micro carrots the add to potatoe pot to make them cook evenly ---super!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States