Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
The cake was not appealing. The cake was waayy too sweet and greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Made exactly, well, I didn't have pecans. This is so fluffy it kinda bothered me! ??. Loved it! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I usually read reviews before following a recipe but after seeing the rating and number of reviews I dove in with both feet. I followed the recipe as is. added a little extra vanilla and cinnamon because I love the flavour and it was perfect. My family immediately called this their favourite carrot cake. Thank you very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Wow. I made this for a group of friends and it was DEVOURED. I followed the suggestions in the "Most helpful positive review" as well as exchanging raisins for the pecans (just my preference) and it was the perfect carrot cake. I would have taken a picture, but it didn't last long enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Made using gneebeanie compiled modifications and it came out great. I doubled the frosting because I made it as a layered cake, but that proved unnecessary... the called-for frosting is plenty. I also used walnuts rather than pecans. The frosting is amazingly light and not overpoweringly sweet. It's just a really good, subtle flavor. The cake is fantastically moist and, again, not too sweet (particularly considering the quantity of sugar). It's an overall amazing recipe. I plan to try it with fruits rather than carrots sometime to see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This was delicous! I took others advice and added 20 oz can of crushed pinapple drained and I only had walnuts so I crushed those up and added them. Next time I will use pecans to see which is better. Instead of using 2 cups of white sugar I substituted one cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white. Great carrot cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kerrync
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 as it is a good recipe, but simply tweaks could be made to improve it. For instance, the taste of cinnamon was too light, so I used 1 tbsp instead of 2 tsp. White sugar generally works fine, but to give the cake a richer flavour, I used 1-3/4 cup white sugar + 1 tbsp molasses (you could also sub 1 cup of white sugar with brown but I didn't have any brown sugar on hand). For those who prefer a less oily cake, the oil can be reduced to 1 cup without compromising on the moistness - my cake was still incredibly moist. In fact, it was still so moist that I had to let it cool in the pan or it would crumble if I wasn't careful in removing it. I made my own cream cheese frosting as the frosting recipe here looked insanely sweet! I used 1/2 cup butter, 1 block cream cheese, 2/3 cup confectioner's sugar and 1 tsp vanilla essence - it was wonderful! Frosting aside, it is not an amazing carrot cake, but with some tweaking to suit your individual tastes, it can easily be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrync

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Loved it, and I use the frosting all the time. I made it according to the recipe and can't think of anything I would change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I followed recipe exactly and thought it was the best carrot cake I've ever had. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I made this cake today. The only changes I made were: I used walnuts instead of pecans. I also cut the recipe in half, and used a 9-inch cake pan, just in case we didn't like the cake, and wouldn't waste so much. I cooked the 9-inch cake for 30-35 mins. It came out very moist, and did not sink in the centre. It was my first time making carrot cake from scratch. I'm not a big fan of carrot cake, that's why I made a smaller one. I did like this one, though. However, my husband really loved it. Maybe next time, I will make the 9x13 inch cake and freeze pieces for him to take to work. Nothing in this recipe needs to be changed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 4,482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States