Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
After reading through 4-5 pages of the reviews, I consolidated the most referred alterations to this recipe to: 1) using 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup white sugar 2) adding an extra teaspoon of vanilla extract 3) adding 1 8oz. can of crushed pineapple (I squeezed out most of the juice before adding it, I didn't want any extra fluids in the cake) 4) Added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg 5) added 1 extra teaspoon of cinnamon 6) used 3/4 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup applesauce. The result came out incredibly delicious - the cake was very flavorful and moist. For the frosting, I only used 3.5 cups of powdered sugar, and it was more than sweet enough, with a nicely balanced cream cheese vs. sweet flavor. If I would change anything again, I would use less pecans - it's a bit too nutty for my personal tastes. Also, I followed another reviewer's suggestion of grating the carrots with the large grater side (the one you use for cheese) so that you don't end up with a bunch of carrot mush and juice that can't be used. Will definitely make again! This is probably the best carrot cake I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8057 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This is a great recipe. Some other reviewers had problems with the center falling-these tips may help. Cakes will sink or fall because of the following 1.Overbeating-too much air is incorporated 2.Underbaking- oven temp is too low or too short a baking time 3.Over or under measurement of ingredients 4.Using too small/large of baking pan 5. Make sure your oven temp is correct-preheat for at least 30 min. and check to make sure your oven is heating properly by using an oven thermometer for accuracy and finally, only open your oven door if you have to and then make sure 3/4 of the cooking time is up. Happy baking everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I chose this recipe specifically because it did not contain pineapple. It was wonderful just as written. (stepping on my soapbox)I think that a recipe should be reviewed for it's own merits with minimal changes. Rating a recipe that you have made many changes to messes up the rating system. You are not rating the listed recipe...you are rating your own! Go ahead and submit it!(stepping down now..thanks lol) That said, I forgot to pick up pecans, but added some finely chopped hazelnuts I had on hand. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2855 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeanine
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Great recipe. It was my 1st homemade carrot cake & it turned out perfect. I made a layer cake using 2 9"round pans & cooked at 350F for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
879 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This recipe was incredible. After a box mix went awry, I turned to this terrific site to find a scratch recipe and decided to try this one. Scrumptious! Like some other bakers, I made a few substitutions and additions: instead of using 1 1/4 C oil, I used 3/4 C oil and 1/2 C applesauce; instead of 2 C white sugar, used 1 C white and 1 C brown; used walnuts instead of pecans and added 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg. I used 2 9-inch greased and floured cake pans. I made this a week before Christmas, so I popped it into the freezer, taking it out to thaw the day before it was needed. It was like it was fresh baked! Then I made the frosting, using 3 C of confectioners' sugar instead of 4. The flavor was heavenly and I still had some left over. Everyone in the family gave rave reviews and had 2 pieces! The cake was gone by the next day. I will make this a Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
782 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I made some subs: 1.5 cups brown sugar (no white), half cup oil and 1 cup crushed pineapple (drained) instead of 1 1/4 cup oil, 2.5 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 3 tsp vanilla, omitted nuts and frosting. I baked in two 9 inch round cakepans for 40 minutes instead of a 9x13 pan. The result was perfectly moist cake with terrific flavor, and less guilt! Next time, I'll double the recipe so my cakes can be a bit taller, and I'll add crushed walnuts...but I can't imagine it being much better than this. Suggestion: if you're using a box grater, grate the carrots on the 2nd largest holes (same ones you use to grate cheese). I made the mistake of grating on the next smaller size holes last time, and used 5 cups of carrots (and 1/2 cup oil - no applesauce). The carrot shreds were too small and too many, and a lot of carrot juice was produced. All that extra liquid caused my "cake" to be more like a thin layer of rubbery pumpkin pie filling, even after cooking for over an hour. So make sure your carrot shreds are quite large, so you don't end up with all that unwanted carrot juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
712 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is just my humble opinion, but I think it's very rude of people changing the recipe so much and then bragging about it like it worked out better than the one given. I don't understand why people make so many changes to the recipes on this site. It's out of control and almost seems like people want to one up the person putting the recipe on the site just to show they could do it better. I have not made this recipe yet but I will tomorrow, without all the brown sugar, without the change in oil, without the applesauce, etc. Post your own recipe instead of making these unneeded changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
443 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Inwood, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I've tried many of the carrot cake recipes on this site (including ones that are overrated) and this one is the best one. It is perfect. For a whole week, i tried many of the cakes and out of them all, my co workers, family and friends loved this the best, I have to agree with them, it's that good. I left the frosting out, it's fine plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
409 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maryo
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
this is the best carrot cake i have tasted in my life! it was absolutely delicious. and it was my first time making a cake from scratch. no more store bought cake for me. and it was guilt free. for those who are health freaks like me and still want a tasty treat i made some changes. i added in 1 cup of raisins. i also substituted applesauce for all of the oil and the cake was still very moist, and i used egg subsitute. i then used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. for a more "spice cake" taste, i used ground cloves, nutmeg, allspice, and cinnamon. i didn't use the frosting recipe that was given. instead i used the fat free cream cheese frosting which can be found on this website as well. for those who had trouble with the middle sinking in i would suggest not over-mixing the batter and leaving very small lumps. otherwise with these changes the cake is fat-free except for the nuts that you add in. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I read all the suggestions below and rolled them together to make the following changes: 2 C White sugar, I substituted 1 C White & 1 C Dark Brown. I used 3-1/4 C Carrots (2 pounds) and 3/4 C vegetable oil and 1/2 C chunky applesauce (you may want to reduce to 1/3C if using the extra carrots - it was almost TOO moist!) and 2-1/2 teaspoons cinnamon - it was incredible! I did make a 2 layer 9 inch round in dark metal pans, so I reduced temp to 335 and cooking time was about 38 minutes. For the icing I found 3 cups of sugar to be perfect and I used lowfat cream cheese - you couldn't tell the difference! I did forget to flour the pan, so I had a hard time getting it out of the pan - you may want to consider parchment on the bottom as well, it was a bit sticky to remove, but I could paste together with icing. Made if for my mother's birthday - everyone raved! I did one layer with nuts and one without and cut in half and put the nutless cake as half the 2 layer cake and the nut cake the other half (I used walnuts, much better). Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States