Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Just what I have been searching for! I used to be known for my yummy scratch carrot cake. After a move and retyping my beat up recipe cards, I knew something was missing. Now I see what I've been missing!! Thanks. This cake gave me a very nice crisp edge, which makes dividing into 4 layers and over icing only the centers, perfect. When I try this recipe again, i will try the suggested substitution of part of the white for brown sugar. HINT - in case you have a husband who cannot tolerate nuts - I chopped the pecans, dropped the mix into half of the pans, then added pecans to the second half of the batter and dropped that into the other side. It baked perfectly and I stacked the layers matching up the nut side. A bit tricky, but my husbands diverticulitis thanks me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilyofcbng
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
excellent recipe, easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is one of the best carrot cakes I've ever tasted. My family loves it and I bake it for most family get-togethers. There are several reviews that suggest substitutions for oil and other content. However, this is a traditional carrot cake with a recipe similar to those found in some of the best restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly as it is stated- YUM! It was for a birthday and it turned out just lovely. I like to make birthday cakes from scratch to add to the occasion. I did not use a 9x13 pan though. I used 2 9" round pans & I think I should have made 3 pans, as it almost baked over! I used the icing and made a layer between the two cakes as well as all over the entire stack. I used fresh carrots from a local farmers market. If you like carrot cake- this one is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
i followed this recipe as written, but omitted the pecans. used my food processor to grate the carrots. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I am not a fan of carrot cake. I made this because someone requested it. I followed the recipe exactly and viola! It's the best carrot cake that anyone has ever had! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
best carrot cake ever.....i made it gluten free and you couldn't tell the difference because it was so moist.....loved it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I baked the cake as it was written. I liked it well enough, but it was almost too moist. It ended up kind of mushy textured for lack of a better way to describe it. It also didn't seem to have much carrot flavor, but it was a good spice cake. The frosting was also ok, not great but ok. As written it was a very thin/runny frosting and didn't really work for what I wanted. Worth trying if you like super moist spice cake with a hint of carrot. -1 star for not really being much of a carrot cake, and -1 star for it being a little too moist and the runny frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as it was written except for the nuts because my husband cant eat them. This cake was unbelievably moist and delicious. I didn't give it 5 stars because of the amount of oil that is in the cake. Next time I make it I am going to substitute applesauce for some of the oil. It does not taste oily, just trying to live healthier. I did cream the eggs, oil, sugar and vanilla first, then in a separate bowl mixed together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Then added the flour mix to the wet. I stirred just enough to blend then folded the carrots in. I did it this way to minimize the amount of stirring while making sure all ingredients are fully mixed in. This was a very good recipe and I will absolutely make it again. Thank you very much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monkey473

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I'm not a fan of carrot cake because it was the only cake my mom made when I was a kid. But my boyfriend loves them and I made these into cupcakes for his birthday. They were a big hit with the family and even I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 4,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States