Caribbean Rum Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Great recipe! For anyone who may need a bit of clarification (like me), here is what I discovered. It takes about 6 limes to get a cup of juice. You can make simple syrup by heating equal parts sugar and water in a saucepan until the sugar dissolves. Simple syrup and bitters can also be purchased rather inexpensively at the liquor store. I used Meyers dark rum and grated about a half teaspoon of fresh nutmeg over the top of the whole batch and stirred it in. The punch has a really wonderful flavor and a bit of a delayed effect so watch out! Thanks for sharing, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2001
quite yummy, i put malibu rum in it too for an extra kick. and the saying is easy to remember!! friends and family all thought it quite tasty too. reminded us of the jolly roger cruise rum punch in the caribbean!! BTW a little secret from the workers on the booze cruise is to add a smidge of nutmeg to the punch. Adds just a little something to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Another reviewer hit it on the head: This is a dead ringer for the rum punch from the "Jolly Roger" in, where was it? Some island in the caribbean; that day remains a little hazy. If you don't have dark rum handy, make this with light rum, serve it in a tall glass, and put a dash of grenadine in to color the bottom. Your guests won't know what hit them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
"Guaranteed hit at any party!" My only suggestion is to add the simple Syrup "to taste" to avoid over sweetening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semper Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My mom and i went on a cruise several years ago, and after an insane jeep trip over a mountian in St. Lucia, we were given cups of this drink from our tour guide. It's not nearly as strong as the 'rocket fuel' we had there, but the flavor made me feel like we were back on that mountain looking out at the banana plantations and the beach. i used half orange, half pineapple juice, just for our preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
WOW! I love it! I call it Pirate Punch!! I used key lime juice and some awesome organic pure maple syrup instead of simple syrup, and I used some pineapple rum we happened to have. I didn't have any bitters and I didn't add nutmeg. It is so good!!! This is my new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I didn't add the simple syrup because I don't like drinks to be too sweet. Also, I couldn't find bitters at the liquor store, so I used Island punch pucker. It was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Made as stated. Turned out a little sweeter than I like, but otherwise great. Next time I will try with more watered down orange juice or something, because I would not want to drink more than a glass or two of this with it being so sweet. Guests said it was good! Oh, for my simple syrup I used half white and half brown sugar; but I know that would not contribute to the overall sweetness of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
For me this cocktail turned out just not bad. I think orange juice overwhelmed here a little. I used dark rum that I brought from the Dominican Republic (one of the best I think). And I didn't use angustura bitters. Not bad recipe to try, but it probably wouldn't be in my favorite cocktail recipe list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
A great punch. I thought it would serve 12 easily, but I had to make a second pitcher, everyone loved it! Wonderful balance of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States