Caramel Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Holy moly! This is delicious! I am not a big caramel fan, but this popcorn is fabulous! It is light, with a crispy shell that is the perfect thickness to compliment the light and airy popcorn inside. I, like other reviewers, used a 1/2 lb (one stick) of butter. I also put the popcorn in a large turkey roasting pan, like someone suggested, and I can't imagine doing it another way. It made it really easy to stir the popcorn every 15 minutes. I wanted to experiment, so after the third stir, I added peanuts, I realized this was too late. I would suggest adding them to the caramel mixture before you add in the baking soda and vanilla. This is when you normally add peanuts to peanut brittle, and I think if I poured the syrup on with the nuts mixed in, they would have stuck. Once the popcorn was done baking, I took half of it and spread it out on parchment and then left the other half in the pan and threw in 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips. I can't decide which version I like better. I think I am going to do this again (one half regular and one half chocolate) and let them cool, break them up and then mix them together so you can get a bite of each one! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The popcorn turned out great. People couldn't believe that it was homemade. Becareful not to get the caramel on you while tossing the popcorn with it in the bowl. it leaves a nasty burn. Great recipe thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Jonkhout

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland Landing, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is the best caramel popcorn recipe I've found. This is the only recipe I use and have used it for years. I usually halve the recipe and bake in a roasting pan. The roasting pan gives plenty of room to stir without making a mess and does not take a full hour to get the desired texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Wallace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This recipe turned out well using microwave popcorn (3 bags), although I thought the popcorn became rather hard after cooling. I would suggest breaking into large chunks of popcorn before it settles and totally cools off. Quite a bit of popcorn stuck to the bottom of the pan and didn't break up well. I used 2 shallow glass pans ( 9 x 13) and cooked at 250 degrees for the total time suggested and stirred about 4 times. I did work hard to get all of the kernels coated by stirring, turning large sections over etc. and scraping the bottom of pans to not waste the sticky goodness. Turned out really great. Lowering cooking time (as others suggested) may help the hardening and sticking to the pan and to break apart better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Excellent, easy recipe! Makes the perfect sweet, crunchy, flavorful snack. I followed exactly and it came out perfect. As it baked in the oven, the caramel kept getting crunchier and crunchier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
i too only used a half of a cup of butter. very tasty stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Reed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Really good popcorn. Easy to make. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Really good, but watch that you don't burn the caramel...I almost did, but took it off the heat before the written time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I just made it for the first time... I followed the recipe and it was so easy... I did keep the popcorn warm after reading the reviews. It's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was exactly how I think Caramel popcorn should taste!!! Super good and easy to make!! thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,635) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States