Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2001
I loved this recipe. It was easy to follow and turned out just like my granny used to make, taking up only half the time. I'd recommend it to anyone. Best wjen poured over cake rather than spreading. Using a plastic spreading spoon to smooth it on to the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
A really great frosting. I used half and half and it was excellent. I had to keep adding half and half to make it spreadable, but since it was so delicious, I didn't mind. :&)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Great recipe and it tastes delicious on banana cake. I didn't have enough to frost the sides of my 10"x13" cake though. In the future I'll double the frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2000
This frosting is delicious and wonderful on a jam or spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
This is an excellent frosting recipe. I like a frosting this is a little creamier, so I added appx. 3 tbsps. of marshmallow creme after all the ingredients were combined. To use the frosting on a bundt cake, I added a little more cream to make it of a consistency that it could be poured on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2000
I poured the hot mixture in my mixing bowl & beat at frosting setting. Worked wonderfully. Did have to add just a tiny bit of liquid after adding the final powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
I thought this frosting was delicious & my family loved it too. It was very easily made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
I used this to top the "Heaven & Hell" cake submitted by Magen Farrar. I added a little more cream and found the finished texture amazing - smooth, yet with a bit of a crunch! I'm going to try piping it next time, as spreading was a little troublesome. (LDP, England)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
so easy and delicious! I used this over "Green tomato cake" from this site. A huge hit. You don't even have to wait for the cake to completely cool before icing if it is in a sheet pan. The warm cake actually helped to spread the icing. This reminded me of the brown sugar fudge that my mom used to make when I was young.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was excellent! It's pretty thick once it cools - I might use it as the cream filling in a sandwich cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States