Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
A really great frosting. I used half and half and it was excellent. I had to keep adding half and half to make it spreadable, but since it was so delicious, I didn't mind. :&)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
This is an excellent frosting recipe. I like a frosting this is a little creamier, so I added appx. 3 tbsps. of marshmallow creme after all the ingredients were combined. To use the frosting on a bundt cake, I added a little more cream to make it of a consistency that it could be poured on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
I recently had a request from my boyfriend's step father to make him the kind of devil's food cake with caramel frosting his grandma used to make. I had absolutely NO IDEA where to start. I found a dfc recipe in Bon Appetit, and used this frosting. I doubled the recipe for a double layer cake. RAVE reviews. Thanks so much! I made one modification, however. It didn't taste "caramelly" enough to me initially - just sugary from all of the powdered sugar. So I tripled the butter/brown sugar/milk portion of the recipe. Turned out fabulous. True to everyone's word it stiffens up very quickly. But nothing a few seconds in the micro didn't fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was so easy to make! I used it as a filling in a layer cake. When mixing in the powdered sugar, I put it on the burner that was still hot when it seemed like it would stiffen up before I had the chance to incorporate all the powdered sugar. It is a hard frosting- not a creamy one. If you want creamy, try another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I can't say how this would be as a frosting for a layer or sheet cake, because I didn't use it that way. What I can say, however, is if you use about half the powdered sugar called for, and a little extra cream till desired consistency, this works beautifully as a glaze. I used it as a caramel glaze for apple muffins (1/2 recipe was just right for 12) and it was perfect--exactly what I was looking for! When hubs came home from work I had him taste a little dab of it for his opinion and he instantly knew it was caramel and thought it was very good! Smooth, not grainy, with a beautiful caramel color. I'll remember to use this again in just the same way for a great caramel icing for muffins or coffeecakes. It does, however, dry hard, so I'm not so sure I would like it as a cake frosting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I have made this several time for my Great Aunt and she has given it her 2 thumbs up and even wanted to use my thumbs for a 4 thumbs up. Grant you I made the same mistake as other when I first made it (not reading the yield area). It plainly states " Original recipe yield: 1 - 8 or 9 inch layer" And that is what I got was one layer worth. With that said tho it was my fault and not the submitters. I now triple it for a 3 layer cake. I did not have any of the other problem as stated by others. It was not runny not did it crack on me, but all that has to do with timing tho. You must vigorotsly boil this to have a good turn out. It does ser quickly therefor it is to be poured and not spread on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Excellent! Very easy to make and it tastes sooooo good. I wanted to make a pourable frosting so I only added the first 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. I also had to add some extra milk because after it cooled a bit it turned into a big glob. I put it on a apple bundt cake, a perfect combination. Thanks for the recipe. I definately will be using this again on many different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I was never a huge fan of Carmel cake until I tried this recipe. The cooling of the cake and the making of the frosting must be timed perfectly. ***YOU HAVE TO BE REALLY QUICK SPREADING THIS ICING WHILE WHILE IT'S HOT. ICING DRIES VERY FAST**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destan Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
fabulous, fabulous! This is an absolutely perfect recipe to frost a bundt cake. It makes enough frosting to liberally glaze but without all the leftover. Followed the recipe except used evaporated milk I had left over. I also browned the butter first to give it a deeper caramel flavor and color. There was no graininess. yes it is sweet...it is frosting. The flavor was very rich with a beautiful sheen. Used this to frost 'Hummingbird Cake I' from this site. I think it will compliment the bananas, nuts, and spice that are in the cake very nicely. (and a big thanks to Ronaville for a great representation of what the frosting looks like)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EMMA37
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great frosting. I used skim milk and it was still wonderful. Drizzled over 'Apple Cake VII'. I like the way it hardens very pretty on the cake. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States