Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Excellent! Very easy to make and it tastes sooooo good. I wanted to make a pourable frosting so I only added the first 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. I also had to add some extra milk because after it cooled a bit it turned into a big glob. I put it on a apple bundt cake, a perfect combination. Thanks for the recipe. I definately will be using this again on many different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RODAVILLE
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Tastes great teamed up with the Hot Milk Sponge Cake III.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I used this recipe to frost a spice cake, and it was the perfect compliment! The frosting was so easy, I don't know why people continue to buy store bought. I did use half and half which made it really creamy and smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2005
The other posts are right, it does set up quickly. I wonder if it would set up so fast if it didn't boil so hard. At any rate, it is so sweet we couldn't eat it, and set up so quickly I had to blob it over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This frosting was super simple and delicious on banana cake....i love easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I made this for my husband's birthday in hopes that it would be close to the caramel cake he loved as a child. Let's just say that I earned enough brownie points to last for many years and I am about to make another cake because he loved it soooooo much. I did triple everything and keep in mind it is more along the lines of an icing and not a frosting. Thank you !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I picked this recipie because I had all the ingredients in my kitchen. Got a bit ahead of myself and combined all ingredients at once, then noticed I was to put it over heat. So I scooped off the powdered sugar and poured the rest of the ingredients into the sauce pan. Heated. Added the sugar. And wala! I was saved. I only let my 2 layer cake cool long enough to make this frosting. After reading all the "quickly pour reviews", I began to pour and it was too runny. So I poked holes in the bottom layer and let some of the frosting run through the cake. I even poked holes in the top layer, so it would stop running off the sides. Pouring in circles helped. If I had cool whip I could serve it to others in stead of just me and the kids. It tasted GREAT even thoughit didn't look so great! I will let it cool next time so it pours slower. ALSO I used 8th Continental Vanilla Soy milk instead of reg milk, keeping my vegetarian family members in mind!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
very good, did have to add a touch more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Very yummy frosting! Although I've learned you need to frost the cake before the frosting cools down too much - I had to make a second batch because it started to set lol! (The double icing was awesome, though!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
Super easy and delicious. I doubled the recipe like most and I also added an extra cup of powdered sugar to make it thicker spreading consistency. I frosted a homeade chocolate cake..yumm yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Culp Wenzelmaier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States