Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
This frosting is fabulous!!! I used it to frost a dark chocolate cake from a boxed mix. It was delicious, I wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This frosting is delicious...but you have to work quick, otherwise, it hardens up and becomes impossible to spread nicely. I used half and half in the recipe for extra yummy calories. I used the recipe to ice cupcakes (made with the Black Magic cake recipe found on this site), which were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This is an excellent "not-as-hard-as-my-grandma's" recipe. Without the double boiling and extra effort this was quite easy and VERY, very tasyty. Thanks MaryKaye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORANGEMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This recipe tasted just like caramel, and it got just hard enough on the outside when it cooled. It was delicious, but even my high school students told me it was "too sweet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
What wonderful frosting! I just made this and it is so delicious (maybe just a tiny bit too sweet for me ~ but I love it anyway) I made some nutmeg bars that turned out more like a sheet cake and found this frosting for it and it's perfect! I doubled the recipe since my "cake" was in a 9 by 13 by 2 pan ... I was in a bit of a hurry and forgot to add the vanilla and it still is great, if you like caramel this is the frosting for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Wow!!! I'm only 14, and I wanted to make my Mom a b-day cake and the frosting all by myself. I tried this recipe and not only was it good, but quick, it only took my about 10 minutes. This recipe is good espically on a yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was excellent! It's pretty thick once it cools - I might use it as the cream filling in a sandwich cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
so easy and delicious! I used this over "Green tomato cake" from this site. A huge hit. You don't even have to wait for the cake to completely cool before icing if it is in a sheet pan. The warm cake actually helped to spread the icing. This reminded me of the brown sugar fudge that my mom used to make when I was young.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
tasty and easy but very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
This is an excellent frosting recipe. I like a frosting this is a little creamier, so I added appx. 3 tbsps. of marshmallow creme after all the ingredients were combined. To use the frosting on a bundt cake, I added a little more cream to make it of a consistency that it could be poured on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States