Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This was good on the banana cake I made. I had to make it twice though, to cover up the whole cake. Next time I'll just make a double batch. Also, they're right about it hardening up if you don't work quickly. Otherwise, it has a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Very easy and turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Was not impressed at all . It was too gooey and sugary for me . Will not make again. Just did not look good , too runny and then it hardened and was too stiff .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
I poured this over a chocolate cake recipe on this website and it truly was the "icing on the cake." Fab!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
I recently had a request from my boyfriend's step father to make him the kind of devil's food cake with caramel frosting his grandma used to make. I had absolutely NO IDEA where to start. I found a dfc recipe in Bon Appetit, and used this frosting. I doubled the recipe for a double layer cake. RAVE reviews. Thanks so much! I made one modification, however. It didn't taste "caramelly" enough to me initially - just sugary from all of the powdered sugar. So I tripled the butter/brown sugar/milk portion of the recipe. Turned out fabulous. True to everyone's word it stiffens up very quickly. But nothing a few seconds in the micro didn't fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
very good! Must use immediately so it doesn't harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
This frosting is fabulous!!! I used it to frost a dark chocolate cake from a boxed mix. It was delicious, I wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This frosting is delicious...but you have to work quick, otherwise, it hardens up and becomes impossible to spread nicely. I used half and half in the recipe for extra yummy calories. I used the recipe to ice cupcakes (made with the Black Magic cake recipe found on this site), which were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This is an excellent "not-as-hard-as-my-grandma's" recipe. Without the double boiling and extra effort this was quite easy and VERY, very tasyty. Thanks MaryKaye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORANGEMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This recipe tasted just like caramel, and it got just hard enough on the outside when it cooled. It was delicious, but even my high school students told me it was "too sweet".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States