Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This icing is awesome and so easy to make. I put it on a chocolate cake and it was great. I will next try it on a prune cake recipe. My Grandmother always made me a prune cake with caramel icing for my birthday. This tastes very much like what she made. Thanks for the memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This recipe was wonderful on a banana bundt cake. It does set up fast, so I poured it straight onto the warm cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
USING A CINNAMON SWIRL CAKE MIX, I MADE UP 24 CUPCAKES AND NEEDED A FROSTING THAT WOULD HARDEN ( GOOD FOR BOXING ,TRAVEL). THIS WAS PERFECT....FAST AND EASY...I DID HAVE TO ADD A LITTLE MORE MILK (I USED HALF AND HALF)FOR THE LAST FEW CUPCAKES , BUT THEY WERE READY WITHIN MINUTES TO BE BOXED UP. NEXT I AM GOING TO TRY THIS RECIPE WITH GRANULATED SUGAR IN PLACE OF THE BROWN AND USE A DIFFERENT EXTRACT (ORANGE , LEMON, PEPPERMINT,ETC.) AND SEE HOW THAT WORKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Yum! I used this on the White Texas Sheet Cake recipe from this site. I topped with some chopped walnuts. The flavor of the walnuts goes really well with this frosting. I want to try it on banana cake or muffins. It's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I used this on a spice cake for my daughter's birthday, and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly as written. After reading reviews stating that it sets quickly, I just dumped it on top of a 9x13 cake, still in the pan, and spread it around. I had no trouble working with it. I loved the firm, crisp surface texture after it sets. It is sweet, as others noted, but I didn't think it was overwhelming. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiendishthingy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Very Good. a little too sweet and I had to triple the recipe to cover a two layer cake. I took the advice of another reviewer and added more milk, brown sugar, butter to make it more caramelly. it was my first time ever trying to make caramel and I was happy with this recipe. i got to keep my good name as a great baker. only problem I had was it was a little too sweet and the sugar doesn't dissovle all the way, it not smooth like caramel candies are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This frosting is great!! My grandma used to make blackberry jam cake with caramel icing, and this tastes just like it. About some comments from other viewers, this icing is not a soft spreadable kind like you might be looking for, but don't let that scare you away. It sets up fast and my grandma just poured it over the cake still in the pan. I'd imagine it would be very good on carrot cake (which I'm not a fan of) or any other cake that could stay in the pan, just make sure the cake and pan are completely cooled first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This was so easy to make! I used it as a filling in a layer cake. When mixing in the powdered sugar, I put it on the burner that was still hot when it seemed like it would stiffen up before I had the chance to incorporate all the powdered sugar. It is a hard frosting- not a creamy one. If you want creamy, try another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This was delicious. Easy to follow directions and fantastic on a cake. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodville, Florida, USA
Living In: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was so delicious! I used it as a glaze on the Apple Cake VII by Jill Hatch. It was amazing poured over it! I followed another's suggestions to triple the butter, milk, and brown sugar, and I am glad I did. It was perfect to use over the cake and I had no problems with the glaze cracking. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States