Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
fabulous, fabulous! This is an absolutely perfect recipe to frost a bundt cake. It makes enough frosting to liberally glaze but without all the leftover. Followed the recipe except used evaporated milk I had left over. I also browned the butter first to give it a deeper caramel flavor and color. There was no graininess. yes it is sweet...it is frosting. The flavor was very rich with a beautiful sheen. Used this to frost 'Hummingbird Cake I' from this site. I think it will compliment the bananas, nuts, and spice that are in the cake very nicely. (and a big thanks to Ronaville for a great representation of what the frosting looks like)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This was perfect on banana cake with walnuts on top. True to everyone's posts it firms up very quickly, so I poured it on the cooled cake after stirring for a few minutes to cool slightly. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I have made this several time for my Great Aunt and she has given it her 2 thumbs up and even wanted to use my thumbs for a 4 thumbs up. Grant you I made the same mistake as other when I first made it (not reading the yield area). It plainly states " Original recipe yield: 1 - 8 or 9 inch layer" And that is what I got was one layer worth. With that said tho it was my fault and not the submitters. I now triple it for a 3 layer cake. I did not have any of the other problem as stated by others. It was not runny not did it crack on me, but all that has to do with timing tho. You must vigorotsly boil this to have a good turn out. It does ser quickly therefor it is to be poured and not spread on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This recipe did not make enough to frost one 2 layer 8" cake. I had to make more to finish. It also sets up very, very quickly. Be prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Easy enough to make but sets too quickly. After adding a touch more milk it was runny then turned into a blob. Very sweet but not the carmel taste I'm looking for. Probably won't use this one again. I'll stick with my own carmel frosting...a little more work but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
This was really good and easy, but too sweet. I usually cut down on sugar in recipes, but couldn't with this one because it was way too thin before I added more powdered sugar. I poured this over Best Brownies and that combo is great! (But rich!). It does get hard really fast, so frost your cake (or whatever) very quickly. My brownies were still slightly warm, which really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Excellent! Very easy to make and it tastes sooooo good. I wanted to make a pourable frosting so I only added the first 1/2 cup of powdered sugar. I also had to add some extra milk because after it cooled a bit it turned into a big glob. I put it on a apple bundt cake, a perfect combination. Thanks for the recipe. I definately will be using this again on many different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RODAVILLE
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Tastes great teamed up with the Hot Milk Sponge Cake III.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
I used this recipe to frost a spice cake, and it was the perfect compliment! The frosting was so easy, I don't know why people continue to buy store bought. I did use half and half which made it really creamy and smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
The other posts are right, it does set up quickly. I wonder if it would set up so fast if it didn't boil so hard. At any rate, it is so sweet we couldn't eat it, and set up so quickly I had to blob it over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States