Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Delicious! I used dark brown sugar and it reminded me of penuche fudge. I used it to frost the cocoa apple bundt cake on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
super good i did brown the butter at the suggestion of another rater yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I usually try a recipe based on the ratings that it has received. I was truly disappointed with this one. I agree with a previous reviewer in their statement of it being too chalky and hard to spread This could be more on the line of a glaze if not allow to cool to long. Will not try this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Excellent! I made a double batch, using half and half in place of milk, and frosted the Colonial Pumpkin Bars (from AR) with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Excellent recipe! I did add 1/2 cup more brown sugar to make it a little more caramel-like...as someone previously suggested (I think she actually suggested an entire cup, but I only had 1/2 cup dark brown sugar and it turned out great) but I thought the consistency was excellent. Have actually made this twice now...once to drizzle over a spice bundt cake (added a little more cream to thin it down) and once to frost a walnut apple cake. Really easy, and really tasty. Not sure how much adding the extra 1/2 cup brown sugar added, but I think without it, it would not have been as caramel tasting. Very good recipe you can tweak to your liking. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivica in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
i used this on a chocolate bunt cake as a glaze. it was sinful. i took the advice of others and lessened the powdered sugar while doubling the other ingredients. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Manocchio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
smells delicious, and this icing will get hard after it cools a bit. SOOOO good for Thanksgiving/Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Good taste, but the texture was a bit chalky. Is there a special technique to prevent this from happening? I had the same problem with my Texas sheet cake frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This worked very well for immediately pouring onto an apple bundt cake (before it had somewhat hardened). I used 2% milk, the amount specified, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This recipe is what I use every time I make a caramel icing. The flavor is amazingly yummy- I only wish it was a little easier to spread so that it would look a little nicer. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jckelly916

Displaying results 81-90 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States