Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Really good. I doubled the recipe and put it on the Fresh Apple Cake III on this site. I used my hand held mixer and beat it while still in the pan I used to boil it. I just poured it on top of the cake while the frosting was stilll quite hot. I didn't let it cool long at all...pretty much boiled it, beat it and poured it. It set up really pretty....and fast. Tasted good. The only person who didn't like it was my son, so gave it a 4 because not everyone loved it. May use it again because I did like it and liked how it looked on the cake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is a nice glaze and looks very smooth if used when warm. I thought it was grainy tasting, the same texture from the brown sugar. not sure how to help that? I put on chocolate cupcakes. Good flavor too. Not outstanding but will definitely make again. My husband didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
WOW! I made this the night before MiL's b-day/T-giving. I iced my German chocolate cake layers and top with it, and it was fantastic! The only changes I made were to toast and add chopped, fresh-picked pecans, and plain old coconut to the end result. Even the pickiest eaters in my family ate it, including the littlest, who has texture issues. Thank you so much for such an elegant and impressive, QUICK dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
THIS RECIPE IS GREAT AND SO EASY TO MAKE NO TIME AT ALL a+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Itta Bena, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
My son was asking for "caramel frosting" for his birthday cake. I had never heard of caramel frosting but as usual, Allrecipes came through! This frosting came out fabulously well, my son's face lit right up when he tried it. :) Knowing that it sets fast, I had the cake all ready and it was certainly no problem at all. I made the cinammon swirl coffee cake recipe from this site and drizzled the frosting on top of my bundt cake. I had a bit of frosting leftover and put it in a small dish and ended up with a little piece of fudge! it tastes exactly like fudge, with pecans added would be like butter pecan. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
The frosting is easy to make and tastes great. My problem was that it stiffened up very quickly and I didn't get the smooth glaze look I wanted. I should have added more milk but thought it would be okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This was fantastic. Very easy to make and was a wonderful topping for the Apple Cake I put it on. Yumm and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This turned out great just as it is written. Perfect amount to drizzle over a bundt cake without having too much frosting left on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
To make it non-dairy/parve i used margerine in place of the butter and soy milk in place of the milk. Nice, smooth and satiny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Love this recipe. Frosting is like eating a praline if you add pecans to it. My husband has requested a caramel cake for the past three weeks. I made a layer cake and had to triple the recipe to make enough. As shown recipe is only enough to drizzle over a bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States