Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This recipe is what I use every time I make a caramel icing. The flavor is amazingly yummy- I only wish it was a little easier to spread so that it would look a little nicer. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jckelly916
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was great! I used this to top the guest cakes at my daughter's first birthday party and it was a hit. It is VERY rich though, so I think the amount used on the picture is a bit much. One batch for me iced 2 9" round cakes with plenty left over. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Easy, delicious recipe. I used cream initially, but had to add a little milk to make it thin enough to spread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
followed the recipe exactly and used it as filling on a butter pecan cake. It was DIVINE!!! The icing did get hard pretty quick, so I microwaved it a few seconds and it was spreadable. It only made enough to fill one layer though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley View, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Delicious! I spooned it over chocolate cake while the icing was still warm, and it set up nicely. If you want a frosting that doesn't harden as much, just add more butter. It's the fat in butter than makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. It was very easy to make. I used a little more milk, so it would be more of a glaze on my Applesauce Cake. Everyone has raved about it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I can't say how this would be as a frosting for a layer or sheet cake, because I didn't use it that way. What I can say, however, is if you use about half the powdered sugar called for, and a little extra cream till desired consistency, this works beautifully as a glaze. I used it as a caramel glaze for apple muffins (1/2 recipe was just right for 12) and it was perfect--exactly what I was looking for! When hubs came home from work I had him taste a little dab of it for his opinion and he instantly knew it was caramel and thought it was very good! Smooth, not grainy, with a beautiful caramel color. I'll remember to use this again in just the same way for a great caramel icing for muffins or coffeecakes. It does, however, dry hard, so I'm not so sure I would like it as a cake frosting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Yuck, I've had some sweet frosting, but boy does this beat 'em! I've made other caramel frostings in the past and they never turned out this way. It's too crunchy even though I added more liquids, and the cupcakes I made wouldn't even hold on to it! Oh well, that's what I get for trying something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
VERY EASY! Used to drizzle over Southern Praline Pecan Cake from this site. Had to mix in a little extra milk to drizzle better. Looks beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
For the cake recipe I used I had to double this recipe. It was a great turn out. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKI22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States