Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Used this to top applesauce cupcakes and they were delicious. I followed the directions exactly and thought that this was going to be more of a spreading frosting than a piping frosting. But it set up great and was very easy to pipe on the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was simply superb. I browned the butter like a previous reviewer suggested. Added a bit less than 1 cup of the powdered sugar. I poured it over some banana nut chiffon cake and sprinkled toasted pecans on top. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
YUM! Used on Apple Spice Snack Cake from AR. Does harden quickly, more like thick glaze than frosting, but DEEElicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsport, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
excellent icing! I used rice milk and margarine for a vegan version and this was very tasty and perfect. I drizzled it over the spice cake: moist-tender-spice-cake. it was a big hit at my 11 year old's birthday party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was so good, I used it to top brown sugar brownie, I was a little heavy on the butter and I subbed 2 tbsp sour cream and 1 tbsp french vanilla coffee creamer for the milk (I was out) and it became a beautiful spreading consistancy that did not harden as many have had trouble with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Tastes great, but was a bit grainy. did anyone else have that problem? Went great with my churro cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Delicious! I used in a cake for my middle layers & it has the perfect caramel hint--exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stevie Bowden
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This tasted so good! It was a little difficult to work with, but had a very nice flavor and looked beaauutiful drizzled on my cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Perfect. My grandfather wanted one of his Mother's Prune Cakes with caramel frosting, and my grandmother said I would never be able to get it right, but he said this was almost exactly the same as hers. Very good over a prune cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This tastes great! I iced the top of a layer cake with it. I had some trouble with it setting (warning: IT HARDENS VERY QUICKLY!), so it's not as pretty as it could have been, but the taste is wonderful. Very much a caramel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States