Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Used this to top applesauce cupcakes and they were delicious. I followed the directions exactly and thought that this was going to be more of a spreading frosting than a piping frosting. But it set up great and was very easy to pipe on the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was simply superb. I browned the butter like a previous reviewer suggested. Added a bit less than 1 cup of the powdered sugar. I poured it over some banana nut chiffon cake and sprinkled toasted pecans on top. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
YUM! Used on Apple Spice Snack Cake from AR. Does harden quickly, more like thick glaze than frosting, but DEEElicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsport, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
excellent icing! I used rice milk and margarine for a vegan version and this was very tasty and perfect. I drizzled it over the spice cake: moist-tender-spice-cake. it was a big hit at my 11 year old's birthday party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was so good, I used it to top brown sugar brownie, I was a little heavy on the butter and I subbed 2 tbsp sour cream and 1 tbsp french vanilla coffee creamer for the milk (I was out) and it became a beautiful spreading consistancy that did not harden as many have had trouble with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Tastes great, but was a bit grainy. did anyone else have that problem? Went great with my churro cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Delicious! I used in a cake for my middle layers & it has the perfect caramel hint--exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stevie Bowden
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This tasted so good! It was a little difficult to work with, but had a very nice flavor and looked beaauutiful drizzled on my cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie Bowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Perfect. My grandfather wanted one of his Mother's Prune Cakes with caramel frosting, and my grandmother said I would never be able to get it right, but he said this was almost exactly the same as hers. Very good over a prune cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This tastes great! I iced the top of a layer cake with it. I had some trouble with it setting (warning: IT HARDENS VERY QUICKLY!), so it's not as pretty as it could have been, but the taste is wonderful. Very much a caramel frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States