Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Oh man, I just made this and took a taste and it is absolutely delicious! I used dark brown sugar. The color is lovely. Put it on a poppy seed 9x13 cake and I just know everyone is going to love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Great flavor. I used on an 9 x 13 apple cake and it was perfect for that. But, I think it's more of an icing than frosting. It gets hard very quickly and it isn't really enough to spread on an 8-9 inch layer cake as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
green tomato cake and this are sooo goood...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was a super easy recipe to make. As previous posters have stated though it does get stiff after sitting and cooling. I used this on applesauce cupcakes and it turned out great. I used the frosting as a glaze though and I found that when frosting them if I kept the sauce pan on very low heat and kept stirring every few minutes it kept the frosting smooth enough to spread. I'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very good and very easy! As a glaze for a bundt cake, I think you could half this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Just made this for a fresh blackberry cake and the only bad thing was I loved the frosting more than the cake. My cake was baked in a 13 x 9 inch pan and I should have made one and half times the recipe. This is more like icing and delicious enough to eat by itself. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Beautiful consistency - firm, yet creamy. I poured it on a rhubarb sour cream coffee cake, and the super-sweet frosting balanced nicely against the tart rhubarb. The amount was perfect to pour over a cake baked in a 10" tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter but my result was not quite like what the other reviews said. It's delicious but did not, at all, tasted like caramel. Sorry. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Almendral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
As mentioned by other reviewers, this is an icing and not a frosting. I thought it tasted good but was very sweet and a bit grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written. I used this to frost cupcakes and it really good although it certainly isn't a light, fluffy frosting. It's more of an icing. It seemed a little grainy at first when it was done, but adding in a little milk and stirring it a little more helped that. It is sweeter than many traditional cake-type frostings, but the flavor is very good and it's very easy to make. This recipe was the perfect amount to frost 6 cupcakes, which was exactly what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States