Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Just made this for a fresh blackberry cake and the only bad thing was I loved the frosting more than the cake. My cake was baked in a 13 x 9 inch pan and I should have made one and half times the recipe. This is more like icing and delicious enough to eat by itself. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Beautiful consistency - firm, yet creamy. I poured it on a rhubarb sour cream coffee cake, and the super-sweet frosting balanced nicely against the tart rhubarb. The amount was perfect to pour over a cake baked in a 10" tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter but my result was not quite like what the other reviews said. It's delicious but did not, at all, tasted like caramel. Sorry. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Almendral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
As mentioned by other reviewers, this is an icing and not a frosting. I thought it tasted good but was very sweet and a bit grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written. I used this to frost cupcakes and it really good although it certainly isn't a light, fluffy frosting. It's more of an icing. It seemed a little grainy at first when it was done, but adding in a little milk and stirring it a little more helped that. It is sweeter than many traditional cake-type frostings, but the flavor is very good and it's very easy to make. This recipe was the perfect amount to frost 6 cupcakes, which was exactly what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly & it turned out excellent. Didn't make enough to frost a 9 x 13 cake though. Next time I'll make at least 1.5 times the recipe. Used it to frost a banana cake, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Not enough liquid added 2 tablespoons more milk (I used evaporated milk) for added richness, found the texture to be grainy and not nearly enough to frost a cake, would have to triple this to have enough for a full size cake. Because of this am only rating 3 stars, I never change a recipe I make it like it says the first time to truly give a honest rating otherwise why not just submit your own recipe??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Tastes ok, but not really what I was looking for, I wanted something smoother to frost my cake, was raised on Sanders Caramel Cake and it was my favorite, they want like 25.00 for a 9" square cake, so I want to make my own, this did not even cover the 13" rectangular cake and hardened way to fast, I will try it again though and make some changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I love this. I have actually made it a few times. This last time it did turn out a little hard, but I think that is due to the fact that I accidentally added all of the powdered sugar at once instead of in increments. But it still tasted good. I love putting it between the layers of chocolate cake. MMMMM! Thanks for such an easy and delicious frosting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dinner@5
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Love this recipe! We are a fan of caramel frostings. I used this on a bundt cake that had chocolate chips and butterscotch chips in it. I drizzled a chocolate ganache over the top of it. I did have to add extra half & half to thin it. Delicious! pic uploaded
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States