Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very good and very easy! As a glaze for a bundt cake, I think you could half this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Just made this for a fresh blackberry cake and the only bad thing was I loved the frosting more than the cake. My cake was baked in a 13 x 9 inch pan and I should have made one and half times the recipe. This is more like icing and delicious enough to eat by itself. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Beautiful consistency - firm, yet creamy. I poured it on a rhubarb sour cream coffee cake, and the super-sweet frosting balanced nicely against the tart rhubarb. The amount was perfect to pour over a cake baked in a 10" tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelleke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I followed the recipe to the letter but my result was not quite like what the other reviews said. It's delicious but did not, at all, tasted like caramel. Sorry. =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Almendral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
As mentioned by other reviewers, this is an icing and not a frosting. I thought it tasted good but was very sweet and a bit grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written. I used this to frost cupcakes and it really good although it certainly isn't a light, fluffy frosting. It's more of an icing. It seemed a little grainy at first when it was done, but adding in a little milk and stirring it a little more helped that. It is sweeter than many traditional cake-type frostings, but the flavor is very good and it's very easy to make. This recipe was the perfect amount to frost 6 cupcakes, which was exactly what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly & it turned out excellent. Didn't make enough to frost a 9 x 13 cake though. Next time I'll make at least 1.5 times the recipe. Used it to frost a banana cake, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Not enough liquid added 2 tablespoons more milk (I used evaporated milk) for added richness, found the texture to be grainy and not nearly enough to frost a cake, would have to triple this to have enough for a full size cake. Because of this am only rating 3 stars, I never change a recipe I make it like it says the first time to truly give a honest rating otherwise why not just submit your own recipe??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Tastes ok, but not really what I was looking for, I wanted something smoother to frost my cake, was raised on Sanders Caramel Cake and it was my favorite, they want like 25.00 for a 9" square cake, so I want to make my own, this did not even cover the 13" rectangular cake and hardened way to fast, I will try it again though and make some changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I love this. I have actually made it a few times. This last time it did turn out a little hard, but I think that is due to the fact that I accidentally added all of the powdered sugar at once instead of in increments. But it still tasted good. I love putting it between the layers of chocolate cake. MMMMM! Thanks for such an easy and delicious frosting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States