Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This frosting was super simple and delicious on banana cake....i love easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I made this for my husband's birthday in hopes that it would be close to the caramel cake he loved as a child. Let's just say that I earned enough brownie points to last for many years and I am about to make another cake because he loved it soooooo much. I did triple everything and keep in mind it is more along the lines of an icing and not a frosting. Thank you !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I picked this recipie because I had all the ingredients in my kitchen. Got a bit ahead of myself and combined all ingredients at once, then noticed I was to put it over heat. So I scooped off the powdered sugar and poured the rest of the ingredients into the sauce pan. Heated. Added the sugar. And wala! I was saved. I only let my 2 layer cake cool long enough to make this frosting. After reading all the "quickly pour reviews", I began to pour and it was too runny. So I poked holes in the bottom layer and let some of the frosting run through the cake. I even poked holes in the top layer, so it would stop running off the sides. Pouring in circles helped. If I had cool whip I could serve it to others in stead of just me and the kids. It tasted GREAT even thoughit didn't look so great! I will let it cool next time so it pours slower. ALSO I used 8th Continental Vanilla Soy milk instead of reg milk, keeping my vegetarian family members in mind!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
very good, did have to add a touch more milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Very yummy frosting! Although I've learned you need to frost the cake before the frosting cools down too much - I had to make a second batch because it started to set lol! (The double icing was awesome, though!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
Super easy and delicious. I doubled the recipe like most and I also added an extra cup of powdered sugar to make it thicker spreading consistency. I frosted a homeade chocolate cake..yumm yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENSFIXINS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I didn't like this frosting at all. It just tasted like powdered sugar to me. A lot of people seemed to like this recipe though. What did I do wrong? If you know, let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I was never a huge fan of Carmel cake until I tried this recipe. The cooling of the cake and the making of the frosting must be timed perfectly. ***YOU HAVE TO BE REALLY QUICK SPREADING THIS ICING WHILE WHILE IT'S HOT. ICING DRIES VERY FAST**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This was YUMMY!!! I did what someone else recommended and doubled the butter and brown sugar. I made a chocolate cake and dripped this all over instead of trying to spread it, etc... It didn't get too hard, but was PERFECT!! Didn't look fantastic, but made it for the family and they scarfed it down!! I poured it on while it was still hot so it made the cake moist and some of it soaked in... SUPERB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This was good on the banana cake I made. I had to make it twice though, to cover up the whole cake. Next time I'll just make a double batch. Also, they're right about it hardening up if you don't work quickly. Otherwise, it has a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States