Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is a nice glaze and looks very smooth if used when warm. I thought it was grainy tasting, the same texture from the brown sugar. not sure how to help that? I put on chocolate cupcakes. Good flavor too. Not outstanding but will definitely make again. My husband didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
WOW! I made this the night before MiL's b-day/T-giving. I iced my German chocolate cake layers and top with it, and it was fantastic! The only changes I made were to toast and add chopped, fresh-picked pecans, and plain old coconut to the end result. Even the pickiest eaters in my family ate it, including the littlest, who has texture issues. Thank you so much for such an elegant and impressive, QUICK dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
THIS RECIPE IS GREAT AND SO EASY TO MAKE NO TIME AT ALL a+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Itta Bena, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
My son was asking for "caramel frosting" for his birthday cake. I had never heard of caramel frosting but as usual, Allrecipes came through! This frosting came out fabulously well, my son's face lit right up when he tried it. :) Knowing that it sets fast, I had the cake all ready and it was certainly no problem at all. I made the cinammon swirl coffee cake recipe from this site and drizzled the frosting on top of my bundt cake. I had a bit of frosting leftover and put it in a small dish and ended up with a little piece of fudge! it tastes exactly like fudge, with pecans added would be like butter pecan. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
The frosting is easy to make and tastes great. My problem was that it stiffened up very quickly and I didn't get the smooth glaze look I wanted. I should have added more milk but thought it would be okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This was fantastic. Very easy to make and was a wonderful topping for the Apple Cake I put it on. Yumm and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This turned out great just as it is written. Perfect amount to drizzle over a bundt cake without having too much frosting left on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
To make it non-dairy/parve i used margerine in place of the butter and soy milk in place of the milk. Nice, smooth and satiny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Love this recipe. Frosting is like eating a praline if you add pecans to it. My husband has requested a caramel cake for the past three weeks. I made a layer cake and had to triple the recipe to make enough. As shown recipe is only enough to drizzle over a bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a caramel frosting to spread over banana muffins. This is it. Really easy and pretty much foolproof. This will be my go-to caramel icing recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States